Search Results
Search this site
324 results found with an empty search
- Living in Tweedsmuir Camp 1948-1957
This article was written in 2002 by Rosemary Stockdale and was based on ‘Memories of Wies and Zen Rogalski’ An account of life in the camp for the Polish community as remembered by Wies (born 1950 in St Luke’s Hospital Guildford) and Zen (born 1948 in Diddington Camp Polish Army Hospital, St Neots) Rogalski who were children at the time. They were motivated by Thursley History Society (Norman Ratcliffe) to put pen to paper so that this part of Thursley’s history was not forgotten by future generations. This article attempts to share with Thursley villagers how our Polish neighbours made this their home, their facilities in the Camp and their day to day activities with many settling locally after the camp closed in 1957. Their father in the camp in 1948 There were three types of buildings in the Camp: Wooden Barracks – homes for the Polish families – built on concrete foundations that can still be seen with pressure treated clad softwood walls and doors and Crittal windows. For insulation they were lined with 12mm fibreboard and the roof with thick felt tiles. The Rogalski’s lived at No 39. Three were three rooms to accommodate the family. There were no modern day facilities no running water, no power for a cooker, no sink, no gas. Cooking was done on a ‘Primus’ stove until in 1953 a a coal fire was acquired which was used for cooking and heating. The camp had a communal bath and shower complex which also housed large white enamelled sinks for washing clothes (washboards and mangles). On washdays this was a meeting place – with laughter, exchange of stories and friendly gossip. Lavatories were situated separately in latrines. Brick built outhouses – most permanent with boilers and electric transformer. Nissen Huts – tunnel shaped structures of galvanised corrugated sheet steel – these were used as simple and secure workshops Much creativity was used by Mrs Rogalski to provide basic necessities of life – clothes were handmade, vegetables were grown in their own garden, plus deliveries from the local grocer and hardware merchant, Mr Karn, from his store in Thursley inc fresh bread, butter, cheese. She also kept chickens and geese for fresh meat and eggs plus down for pillows and quilts. A favourite activity was picking wild mushrooms from the woods which ere then dried to season soups and other dishes For other items there was the occasional adventure on the number 24 bus into Guildford. The Camp was a safe fun place for the children to play and with increasing numbers of children in the mid 50s there were many friends and playmates. There was a real sense of solidarity and social cohesion in the camp that made their childhood idyllic and trouble free. Earning a living - having been demobilised from the forces the mot important issue was how to eke out a living and were to settle permanently. They could not go back to their home district as this was no longer in Poland but in USSR. The decision was England, but the two problems were language and lack of training as thy were too young before the war to have had any professional education. There were no doctors, solicitors or dentists in the camp as any such qualified professionals had settled in London and the Tweedsmuir community had to turn to them when specialist help was required. The Godalski’s did just that when buying a London home in 1957. For the inhabitants of Tweedsmuir finding employment was a tightly controlled process operated by British authorities – issued with a Certificate of Registration. The mother sought worked at Secretts Farm in June 1952. Many people in the camp were employed in engineering, building and agriculture. Most ‘engineers’ were employed by Dennis, Guildford. Mr Grodalski was employed by Nutbourne Brickworks Ltd, construction of houses in Godalming. 1948 to 1952 Mrs Grodalski stayed at home to bring up the two children and then as a land girl at Secretts Farm, crop picking. Secretts organised an annual works outing for its workers – one year it was a trip to London to the pantomime. In this way the family earned the monies to provide the family with the requirements of life. A Corpus Cristi procession and a celebration of Holy Communion Tweedsmuir inhabitants were isolated both physically and socially from the English community and the children were immersed solely into Polish culture and custom until they were of school age and were enrolled in ‘Elstead Junior Mixed and Infants School. Culture in the camp revolved around chapel, community centre and kindergarten – each of which was in converted barracks. The chapel had 3 sections – altar, vestry and nave with a small organ at the back. The Polish priest and spiritual leader was Father Bystry. Here is another write up of life in Tweedsmuir: https://www.polishresettlementcampsintheuk.co.uk/tweedsmuir.htm
- Thursley & Thursley Common: Jill Fry's Calendars 2011 - 2014
Jill produced four calendars of her beautiful photographs taken in and around Thursley, with some featuring her husband Ray. 2011 This is one of Jill's favourite photographs 2012 Jill captioned this calendar: 1. The track to the village; 2. Fallow deer at Petworth; 3. Frensham Little Pond; 4. No planes; 5. Waggoners Wells; 6. 5:20am at Pudmore; 7. Summer storm coming to the Downs; 9. South-west from the Hogs Back; 10, Water droplet; 11. Fog lifting from Frensham Great Pond; 12. Sunset from Cuckoo Corner, Milford. 2013 2014
- Book: Grayshott's Wartime Memories - Our People's Stories from WW2
The History of Thursley Society renamed itself Thursley History Society to recognise that it wanted to report on events nearby but not entirely within its parish boundaries. Grayshott Heritage have kindly given THS permission to reproduce this book. There are a limited number of books available from Grayshott Heritage. The pdf below contains the entire book:
- Streetfield, The Street
These houses, comprising eight homes, are on the left as you walk down the Street and are opposite Wheelers Farm Photograph by Sean Edwards 1 Streetfield Bob, Liz and David Etherington moved to "Anchor Cottage", 1 Streetfield, soon after David was born in September 1990. Jennifer was born in 1992. Bob worked locally for a computer recruitment agency in Godalming. Liz, having been a registered childminder for three years resumed part-time work at the National Westminster Bank. David and Jennifer went to school at All Saints, Tilford. July 1997 Edna and Robert Morgan, 2 Streetfield In 1996, Edna and Robert Morgan wrote, "This is one of the more modern houses in the village and is of no architectural interest what-so-ever, but it has been our home since it was built in 1948. Most building immediately after World War II was carried out by local authorities and Hambledon Rural District council erected six house in Thursley. The builders were Miltons of Witley. In 1956 the council gave tenants the opportunity to buy the properties so from then, over the years, we were able to improve the house. We have a panoramic view of The Street and have never considered making a move". No 2 Streetfield Cattle at rear of Streetfield, 1984 View of the village from the bedroom window of 2 Streetfield, c1965 The village from the garden of 2 Streetfield, Christmas Day 1981 Sale particulars for 2, Streetfield in March 2024 https://www.rightmove.co.uk/properties/145794980#/?channel=RES_BUY Dale Workman with her daughter, Tammy, 3 Streetfield, in 1997 Nick Wisdom, 4 Streetfield, 1997, where he has lived since the 1960s
- Warren Park and Loseley House
This article written by Jackie Rickenberg appeared in the Parish Magazine in March 2024 Warren Park Surely the smallest of the parish’s hamlets must be Warren Park. The archives contain little to no history about it, but potentially someone may know more? “ In 1618, Sir Robert More of Loseley and Henry Bell of Witley, set up a rabbit warren on what is now Thursley Common. At this time, artificial warrens were built to house rabbits, which were farmed for their fur and meat during the medieval and post medieval periods. A collection of these warrens was called pillow mounds and a licence was required from the King which gave the “Right of Free Warren”. The people who looked after these pillow mounds were called warreners. A house for said warrener was built on this site. Over three centuries later, in 1939, long after this practice had been discontinued, a military camp for Canadian soldiers, similar to the one at Tweedsmuir, was constructed on the site. At the end of the war, after the Canadians had returned home, displaced Polish troops who fought with the British Army in North Africa and Central Europe, were temporarily housed in the now empty camp”. Thank you to John Luff for this summary. Loseley House As is often the way when researching these articles, for several hours I have been down the proverbial rabbit hole, indeed a positive pillow mound of rabbit warrens! The reason the name of our society was changed from The History of Thursley Society to The Thursley History Society was exactly for this reason. It allows us to include tenuous historical links to areas outside of the village’s parameters – in this case we travel to Loseley House, near Guildford. Sir Robert More piqued my interest and it transpires setting up a pillow mound of rabbit warrens in Thursley was perhaps one of his lesser celebrated achievements. Born in 1581 at Loseley House, Robert was the first son of Sir George More and his wife Anne. He came down from Corpus Christi, Oxford with a BA in 1598, making him seventeen years old at graduation. It was said he lived in the shadow of his father, one of the most prominent parliamentarians of this period. Sir Robert (he was knighted at the grand old age of twenty-two) entered Parliament, becoming MP for Guildford whilst still a minor. He became joint keeper, along with his father, Sir George, and his grandfather, Sir William, of Farnham Little Park and Joint Constable of Farnham Castle. Until his death in 1626 at the age of forty-four, he served as a JP for Surrey and an MP for Surrey or Guildford no less than six times. He left a wife and eleven children, all residing in “The Old House” at Loseley Park. Some of his more memorable (to me at least) committee seats were to prevent unlawful games, to consider recusant wives (wives who refused to submit to their husbands), better observance of the Sabbath and the naturalisation of the daughters of Sir Horace Vere (falling again down that warren!). Upon his death, More was buried in the Loseley Chapel in St Nicholas’, Guildford. His eldest son, Poynings More, succeeded him as an MP, serving Haslemere. His last remaining sister, Margaret, who had married Thomas Molyneux of Lancashire, inherited the estate. The present family of More-Molyneux are descended from this couple. So there. We now have a better understanding of the man, Sir Robert More, his political career and his many public responsibilities. However, we also know that he had a passion/hobby for raising rabbits in the quiet surroundings of Thursley and whenceforth the origin of Warren Park’s name. Any filling in of the blanks between 1618 and 1939 would be most appreciated! ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Warren Park in the 20th Century: Photographs taken by Eddie Gale in the late 80s/early 90s
- Atlantic Wall: Walk and Talk, August 2025
Thursley History Society organised a walk and talk on Hankley Common in August 2025 in order to learn about the derivation, construction and use of the Atlantic Wall in World War 2. The well-attended talk was given by Paul McCue, Executive Trustee of Secret WW2, who briefly explained the work of https://secret-ww2.net/ , and invited those interested to join, before giving a wonderful presentation on the Atlantic Wall. Hearing his commentary while being in close proximity to the remains on the wall on Hankley Common felt very special. His talk was warmly applauded and was followed by a marvellous tea prepared by Sarah Grillo. History and cakes on a glorious August day cannot really be bettered! Paul McCue's presentation: SECRET WW2 LEARNING NETWORK is a registered educational charity specialising in raising awareness about the secret, clandestine and behind-the-lines aspects of the Second World War, as can be seen from the brochure: Today I will talk about: WHAT WAS THE ATLANTIKWALL (to use the German spelling) WHO THOUGHT UP THE CONCEPT HOW WAS IT ATTACKED WHY IS IT HERE? AND WHY IS IT WRONG TO CALL IT ROMMEL’S ATLANTIC WALL? In 1941 Field Marshal Erwin von Witzleben was appointed Commander in Chief OB West, replacing Field Marshal von Rundstedt who was needed for the invasion of Russia. Von Witzleben realised western coast of German-occupied Europe had to be protected against attack by Britain and her Allies. Fi eld Marshal Erwin von Witzleben The Germans’ concerns increased after the entry of USA into the war in December 1941 and so in February 1942, Von Witzleben undertook a tour of inspection which led to Hitler’s Directive no 40 on 23 March 1942. It was that coastal defences, backed by troops, should extend from Norway to Spain with the aim of smashing any attacks, landings or invasion on the beaches not allowing ingress into mainland Europe. Atlantic Wall as originally specified by Directive No 40 The Germans’ concerns were underlined only five days later by the British commando raid on the docks at Saint Nazaire on the French coast. No sooner agreed then von Witzleben left his position, the official reason being illness, and had to be replaced. His successor was Field Marshal Gerd von Rundstedt who returned to again be Commander-in Chief OB-West Field Marshal Gerd von Rundstedt Now, for the first time, the term ATLANTIKWALL was used and it was to stretch from Antwerp in Belgium to the French/Spanish border. A far more realistic proposition than the directive which included the vast Norwegian coastline. Revised scope of the Atlantic Wall Construction of the wall and defences was to be the responsibility of the Todt Organisation, a national engineering organisation (which, for example, constructed the pre-war autobahns), largely using slave labour and founded by Fritz Todt, in 1933. Dr Fritz Todt Todt, however, was killed in an air crash in February 1942, but his place was taken by an equally efficient Nazi official, Albert Speer, Minister of Armaments and Munitions. Albert Speer Slave workers To counter the new German defences, additional intelligence was needed. Types of intelligence: Sigint (Bletchley Park, Enigma code etc); Aerial Recce; Humint (MI5’s London Reception Centre at the Royal Victoria Patriotic School on Wandsworth Common, south-west London and Britain’s Secret Intelligence Service (SIS- MI6 was its wartime ‘cover name’, but has since endured), intelligence agents of various governments in exile, and resistance organisations in the occupied countries). There was a lack of intelligence on the Normandy area, but they had to be careful to also continue to pay attention to Pas de Calais as part of Operation FORTITUDE, which was a crucial Allied deception operation during World War II, designed to mislead the Germans about the location and timing of the D-Day landings in Normandy . So what resources were available in Normandy? SIS/MI6 – we know very little, the official files have not been released and it is pledged they never will be. But we do know an almost-incredible story of the crucial part played by a 40-year-old painter/decorator in Caen as part of the resistance reporting to the Free French intelligence service. But first we need to go back a step. One of the earliest French Resistance groups to be founded, in 1940 in Paris, was the Confrérie Notre-Dame , the CND (later CND-Castille), a Catholic, intelligence-gathering organisation, headed by this man, Gilbert Renault and known as Colonel Rémy. Colonel Rémy The CND in Paris reported to General de Gaulle’s Free French intelligence service, the Bureau Central de Renseignements et d'Action (BCRA) in London which was headed by this man – André Dewavrin, codenamed Colonel Passy . André Dewavrin, codenamed Colonel Passy BCRA had operated out of 10 Duke Street, London since 1940 and, despite the innocent, boyish looks of Dewavrin, the address had a reputation for brutality on occasions as violence was allegedly used to extract information from those interrogated there. Marcel Girard and Les Touristes By 1942, the BCRA were committed to helping provide intelligence on the Atlantic coast and the CND were ordered to expand their activities and, in particular, to fill an intelligence gap in the Caen area of Normandy – the very area that was to be used for the D-Day invasion. The local CND organiser was Marcel Girard, a former French Army artillery captain. His group in Caen used to meet at the café ‘Les Touristes’ (still there to this day) and kept an eye on the Todt HQ in the nearby Rue de Geôle. Rue de Geôle, Caen, HQ ofthe Todt Organisation in the city Enter René Duchex, 40-year-old painter/decorator, member of CND’s group in Caen René Duchex He was a ‘Marmite’ character: a calvados imbiber, a heavy smoker, garrulous and lax about security. Many though him an engaging character, some thought him a fool. He was not helped by his favourite saying, “C’est le sang-froid, mon ami, toujours le sang-froid”. Which could be translated as "That's coolness, my friend, always coolness" . The local OT head, Col Schnedder was replaced by Col Keller. He put out a contract for the redecoration of the building and although Duchez submitted a late bid, he won the day and started painting in May 1942. He discovered the detailed plans for the Atlantikwall that had beeb delivered to Keller and hid them behind a mirror until, while working over a weekend, he was able to spirit them out of the building and give them to Girard who in turn delivered them to Renault in Paris. The Renault family left France by the small boat ‘Les Deux Anges’ from Pont Aven on 17 June 1942. They were taken out to see to RV with the fishing trawler N51, operated covertly by the Royal Navy on behalf of Britain’s intelligence services. The plans were hidden in a biscuit tin among luggage of the Renault family and the tin can just be seen in a photograph taken during the voyage Duchez’s map, an extraordinary intelligence achievement, arrived in Britain at a critical period - pl anning was already in hand in 1942 for an invasion of France.Just two months later, the Dieppe Raid, code name Operation JUBILEE, on 19 th August 1942 saw 6,000 infantry, largely Canadian, and a regiment of tanks put ashore in what was clearly a rehearsal for an eventual invasion. The Dieppe Raid was regarded a disaster by the Allies as over 10 hours, 3600 of the 6000 put ashore were killed, wounded or taken prisoner. Of the many lessons learned, one was that even more intelligence would be needed, especially as it was realised Germans would now stiffen defences and build more fortifications. Duchez’s stolen map was incredibly important as they showed not only existing defences and those under construction, but those planned for the future. As a result aerial reconnaissance stepped up with both Spitfires and Mustangs being used for low-level flying. As can be seen from the photos below, the USAAF and the RAF both used the other nation’s aircraft. Mustang and Spitfire In February, 1943 worked started on the construction of Atlantic Wall on Hankley Common. 174 Workshop and Park Company, Royal Engineers, helped by elements of the Royal Canadian Engineers, worked in continuous shifts, 24 hours a day. A fleets of 20 lorries, for sand, gravel and cement, were used and fine weather enabled the completion of the tasks in seven weeks. The wall was 300 feet long, 10 feet high, 11 feet deep and there were also dragon’s teeth, bunkers, concrete blocks, rail track…..and a minefield. There are five (some say seven) similar structures around Britain, including Sherriffmuir, near Dunblane in Perthshire, Castlemartin, Pembrokeshire; Sudbourne, Suffolk; and Shoeburyness, Essex. The wall, and the other obstacles on Hankley Common were used not just to test their own durability and effectiveness, but to develop specially adapted armoured vehicles (using a tank chassis and hull) to assault and overcome them. These, developed by the Royal Engineers and formally known as Assault Vehicle Royal Engineers (AVRE), were nick-named Hobart’s Funnies, after Major General Percy Hobart of the British Army’s 79 th Division. Variants included the Onion and (with a double charge) the Double Onion and an improved version called the Goat [see pics below]. While these versions ultimately didn’t see use for the invasion, the AVRE fitted with a Petard 29mm spigot mortar was successfully used on D-Day. This, too, was tested at Hankley Common. AVRE (Assault Vehicle Royal Engineers) with Petard spigot mortar and (far right) its projectile – ‘the flying dustbin’ Developed in light of Dieppe, the main gun was replaced by a petard mortar that fired a forty-pound HE-filled projectile (nicknamed the "flying dustbin") 150 yards (137 m); capable of destroying concrete obstacles such as roadblocks and bunkers. Extremely high casualty rates among engineers was one of the primary reasons for the failure of the Dieppe Raid of August 1942. Sappers were tasked to get the tanks off the beach, destroy obstacles and build ramps over the concrete sea wall. At Dieppe, the sappers drew fire and became a priority target for the German defenders. As well, they lost significant amounts of their supplies on sunken landing craft. With the tanks unable to leave the beaches, the raid stalled and failed. Following the failure of Dieppe, an RCE officer, Lt J.J. Denovan who was attached to the Department of Tank Design, proposed a vehicle to protect engineers during assault operations. While the idea received praise, their were higher priorities and development could not be supported. Determined to do it on his own, Denovan 'procured' a Churchill tank and with the assistance of friends at 1 st Canadian Mechanical Equipment Company, and the connivance of the upper levels of the Royal Canadian Engineers in Britain, set out to build a prototype. The Churchill proved to be the ideal chassis. It had lots of space inside for demolition stores and side exit doors to allow sappers to get in and out as necessary. The tank gun turret basket and ammunition storage racks were removed and replaced with stowage for demolition supplies and tools. The turret was retained and a large calibre petard mortar replaced the main gun. The petard could fire a 44-pound demolition charge up to 110 yards. There was a crew and five sappers and an armoured corps driver. In January 1943, the prototype was demonstrated successfully and orders swere placed for what would become a fleet of nearly 600 vehicles. Deliveries to frontline units started in early 1944 to British Forces in Italy. Vital intelligence was procured by COMBINED OPERATIONS PILOTAGE PARTIES – COPP – Hayling Island COPP Memorial on Hayling Island There were also commando raids conducted along the Atlantic coast, to test the enemy’s defences and to again cover the Pas de Calais area and as far north as Dunkirk, in order to maintain Operation FORTITUDE. AND AT LAST…. Field Marshal Erwin Rommel took responsibility for Wall in the latter half of 1943. On a first tour of inspection in December 1943 he was un impressed by the insufficient number of troops, the weakness of the defences and the lack of a uniform plan for the erection of these defences. Von Rundstedt had strayed to a concept of a defensive-offensive type of defence wherein success was to be achieved by rapid operations with concentrated reserves after the invasion forces had landed. Rommel, believing strongly in a cordon defence, felt that every effort should be made to oppose the actual landing. Field Marshal Erwin Rommel Come D-Day….. Were the Funnies used in action? The Double Onion – no AVRE Petard – yes (already mentioned above and see pic – on D-Day beach - below So Hankley Common and its Atlantic Wall contributed directly to the success of D-Day – and other armoured assault operations in NW Europe What became of the players in this story? Duchez carried on his spying duties in Caen, he became a wanted man, and only narrowly escaped arrest. He joined the Maquis Saint Clair, and he was decorated by the award of the Croix de Guerre after the liberation of France. He died in 1948. His wife, Odette, also an active member of the Resistance, never remarried and died in 2005. She was at last reunited with René by being buried at his side, 57 years after his death. The Germans: Von Witzleben, was tried and hanged August 1944, aged 62. He was to have been head of German Army after July 20 th 1944 if the plot to assassinate Hitler had worked. These were his words before his hideous execution: You may hand us over to the executioner, but in a few months' time the disgusted and furious four major world powers will destroy you forever, and bring you to book for all the hideous crimes we just tried to put an end to in advance. Von Rundstedt, was captured in 1945, charged with war crimes but did not stand trial due to poor health, he was released in 1949 and died in 1953, aged 77. Rommel, committed suicide October 1944 rather than face trial, disgrace and execution, aged 52. For further investigation/reading I recommend: ‘Ten Thousand Eyes’ 1958 book by Richard Collier and ‘Vanguard’ 2019 book by David Abrutat Paul McCue The following attended and apologies for any omissions: Adam Adler; Sandra and Michael Arnold; Amy Brown; Sally Catchpole; Carolyn Crookall; Sabry Dragoni-Long; Lesley Eyre-Walker; Sarah and Tom Grillo; Else Grygelis; John Gunner; Sandy Hanauer; Jane Howard; Peter Hunter; Jo and Tony Kelly; Sukey Langdale; Alina and Sophie Ling; Jackie Malton; James Mendelssohn; Marion O’Brien; Alan and Sally Perrier; Sue Ranson; Jackie and Peter Rickenberg; Sally Scheffers; Mike Spencer; Jilly and Andrew Storey; Maggi Tompkins; Sarah Traill; Anne and Simon Treadwell; Tim and Anne Wakeley; Margaret and Tim Walsh, Wendy Williams; Lizzie and David Young The wall as it is today, August 2024:
- Secret WW2 Learning Network
Secret WW2 Learning Network is an educational charity specialising in the secret, clandestine and behind-the-lines aspects of the Second World War. Thursley History Society was fortunate to have a presentation in August 2025 from Paul McCue, Executive Trustee of Secret WW2, on the Atlantic Wall on Hankley Common. Paul McCue giving a fascinating talk on the Atlantic Wall on Hankley Common For further information on Secret WW2, here's a link to their website: https://secret-ww2.net/
- Silk Mill Cottage
Silk Mill Cottage is a Grade II listed building (6th June 1978). It is only accessible from the A3 and shares a driveway with Warren Mere. Silk Mill Cottage at the time of its sale in 1978 Silk Mill Cottage was once part of the Warren Mere Estate. The pdf below contains details of the sales of Warren Mere and Silk Mill Cottage over the past 100 years or so: An unusual view of Silk Mill Cottage, probably in the late 1980s
- St Michael & All Angels: Our Church 950 MXXX Jubilee
Out of the Past - Into the Future. This booklet was planned as a Jubilee Anthology, to contain an assortment of items from numerous inhabitants of Thursley past and present. It was introduced and signed off by Rosemary Stephens, Thursley Vicarage, Michaelmas 1980.
- Olde Hall
Photographs only of this Grade II listed building (9 March 1960) Olde Hall in 1990 Miss Gooch, outside Olde Hall, where three families lived in 1897 when it was known as Back Lane (the locals called it Pig Turd Alley!) Tor and Kerstin Sandgren, 1996 Surnames of previous owners: Trusaler; Curtis; Sharland; Karn; Buckingham
- Book Review: Heart Stood Still by Miriam Sharland
This review, by Sally Scheffers, first appeared in the September 2025 issue of the Parish Magazine Ka Haea Te Ata “Heart Stood Still”, written by Miriam Sharland Over the last couple of years I have become friends with Miriam who is a frequent visitor to Thursley. Her family roots in our village go deep as the Sharlands and Lillywhites, from whom Miriam is descended, have lived here for centuries. As a young woman Miriam followed her heart and emigrated to New Zealand where she lived for nearly twenty years before making the brave decision to return to England and her family. I am envious of Miriam’s capability and fearlessness to make such huge choices and to coolly deal with all the ramifications incurred. Before leaving her adopted homeland Miriam wrote her first book, “Heart Stood Still”. This book is a series of essays based on the theme of the natural world which Miriam has written in four parts: Autumn, Winter, Spring and Summer. Each part has three chapters which loosely relate to the title of that essay. I say loosely because Miriam describes the world around her and her frustrations at the lack of respect shown to the natural environment from her fellow citizens as well as the local authority. Occasionally, Miriam reports, in full, the abuse from entitled drivers as she cycles her way around Manawatu, Aotearoa. Set during Covid, Miriam and her friends meet at a distance and share the produce from their gardens and from their foraging forays. All the essays are gentle and wistful, and we learn of Miriam’s childhood in Witley with Sunday afternoon family outings to Thursley Common. And Miriam’s homesickness during phone calls to her family is there to see. Miriam writes with ease and reading her book is also easy as well as very enjoyable. This book reminds me of the pleasure of being told a story at the kitchen table which gently meanders, takes little detours, has little anecdotes and interesting facts that remain with you, but the story is heartfelt and real due to the way it has been told. This wonderful book is one of life’s simple pleasures and, as we all know, achieving simplicity takes a lot of effort. The Maori words were explained within the text but one word, ”berm” caught both Amanda Flint-Roberts and myself out. It is, in fact, a bank or verge. Miriam is now working on her next book in which she follows the wartime route of her uncle, Bob Sharland, who she never met as he was shot down in April, 1944 at the age of 21. I look forward to it but in the meantime I will re-read “Heart Stood Still”. Sally Scheffers --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- The book can be bought from Blackwells and other online booksellers: https://blackwells.co.uk/bookshop/product/9781990048708?gC=5a105e8b&gad_source=4&gad_campaignid=20226739100&gbraid=0AAAAADsTpASL1BxMs5Ogoishvsc_6y2Wi&gclid=Cj0KCQjw8KrFBhDUARIsAMvIApaYIXvgKcQQUVH2Jup3g-h_KPm-h_XLvyuOjiSTIp_meWn7nii0LecaAjCaEALw_wcB











