Search Results
299 results found with an empty search
- The Lodge, The Street
This Grade II listed building (9th March, 1960) is situated on The Street. The Doctor on his rounds wearing his top hat The Robertson family in front of the Lodge with a tricycle Michael and Marion O'Brien, 1997 Surnames of previous owners include: Terry; Watson; Sadler Photograph by Sean Edwards
- The Street
Photographs only: see separate entries for: Street House; Wheelers Farm; Opening of Wheelers Farm Granary; Wild Goose; The Lodge; Boxalls; Vine Cottage; Sunset Cottage; Prospect Cottage; Streetfield; Little Green; A Walk Through Old Thursley Hatch Cottage, the extension was built on for the Hacks. According to Ann Levy there had been a village shop at the other end Bert and Nellie Williams outside No 1 Hatch Cottages Wheelwrights and The Street. John Goble and his wife moved to Wheelwrights in Thursley in 1902 to become the village blacksmith and wheelwright. Hatch Cottage Cruiser Mk IV tanks of 5th Royal Tank Regiment, 3rd Armoured Brigade, 1st Armoured Division, drive down The Street in July 1940 Wheelwrights (HM Land Registry Map below) Sunset Cottage Wild Goose The Granary, Wheelers Farm Wheelers Farm Little Green Street House
- Highfield Lane
WORK IN PROGRESS: See separate entries for Upper Highfield, Lower Highfield, Hedge Farm, Hall Farm Barns, Hill Farm House Photograph by Jill Fry Photographs by Sean Edwards Highfield Bungalows 1 Highfield Bungalows, the home of Adrian, Teresa and George Linegar in 1997 2 Highfield Bungalows, this photograph of Ray and Peggy Stokes was taken in 1993 4 Highfield Bungalows, Eddie Gale photographed in 1997 These, more recent photographs, were taken by Sean Edwards: Hill Farm Cottages Three Acres Thursley born and bred at Three Acres The Briary Brian and Mary Sharp, 1997 Hill House David and Catherine Phillimore, 1997 Surnames of previous owners of Hill House include: Middleton; Drewery; Edwards; Ronary Ronary Bungalow was built in 1994 and named after Mary Rapley's original home nearby Mary Rapley, 1994 Hilldown Home of the Smarts and the Emersics in 1997 Anne Marie Emersic lives there now Upper Highfield Cottage Sale particulars prepared by Knight Frank in 2024:
- The Dye House
The Dye House is a Grade II listed building (9th March 1960) constructed of timber framing with brick infill and has a steeply pitched roof with gables and dormer windows. From Elstead Then & Now : The seventeenth century could well have marked a high point in the village’s (Elstead) prosperity as a small agricultural unit, as a fair was held on the Green on St. James’ Day. In 1666 there was a place called the “Dyehouse” out on the Thursley Road, the tenant being one Henry Peto. In fact it was on the right hand side, descending the hill into Thursley from Elstead. It may be evidence of the cultivation of woad in the area. Guildford, Godalming and Farnham were all centres of the production of kersey woollen cloth, and the importance of the wool trade in medieval England has already been mentioned. The “Woolpack” and the “Golden Fleece” (pubs in Elstead) suggest the importance of the wool trade in the area, and as late as the nineteenth century, Elstead still had a worsted mill. The wool trade was dwindling in importance by the seventeenth century in the area, however, It was concern for the plight of elderly weavers which led Archbishop George Abbot to found the almshouses, or hospital, in his native Guildford. Mrs Gooch of Dye House The Dye House,1900, was owned by Mr R Payne of Pierrepont Farm, Frensham, and later passed to Mrs Gooch, his daughter. The Rock Garden, 1938, - Smallbook stream was dug by monks living there around 1600. Alf Pullen, coachman to the Gooch family, lived at Brook Cottage which was changed from Ivy Cottage in 1939. Charles Weeden, chauffeur to Sir Bruce Thomas QC, 1929 Rolls Royce which had silver interior fittings. From Country Life issue dated June 11, 1953: Front and rear of Knight, Frank & Rutley particulars (undated): Interior of brochure:
- Dye House Road
WORK IN PROGRESS - Photographs only and see separate entries for The Three Horseshoes, The Old Vicarge, The Village Hall, The Corner, The Clump, The Dye House and Brook and Horn Cottages FOLDSDOWN The Patrick Family, Foldsdown, 1997 Surnames of previous owners of Foldsdown include: Parker; Jobson; Matthews THE VILLAGE HALL VEAN COTTAGE Photograph by Sean Edwards THE OUTLOOK Reg Fosberry in 1996 The Outlook was originally the workshop of the builder, William Karn Fosberry, he and his family lived at what is now known as Vean Cottage. He eventually converted it into living accommodation. As you can see, a studio was built at the back for the use of his brother-in-law, Henry Tozer, who lived at The Clump when it was a shop and Post Office. Eveline Lance, the artist, rented the house in the summer months, eventually coming to live there permanently in 1929. The studio was then used by her. After the Fosberry family sold Vean Cottage, they moved into The Outlook, where Reg, William's grandson still lives. Compiled in 1996. The Outlook faces Thursley Common and lies behind The Clump and Vean Cottage THE CLUMP THE CORNER SAWYERS & THE OLD POST HOUSE The Old Post House 1932 c1965 Sawyers The Old Post Office was extensively remodelled in 2022 Surnames of previous owners of The Old Post Office include: Davidson; Wonham; Wishart Surnames of previous owners of Sawyers include: Ellison; Arnold; Gabriel; Sparks; Copeman THE THREE HORSESHOES THE WELL HOUSE THE OLD VICARAGE STORES COTTAGE Rodney and Tone Badcock, 1997 OVERDALE and CRICKETS Crickets , below, was built by the Canadian Army in World War 1 for the recuperation of wounded soldiers and is the original construction. Overdale , above, was built in 1985 and replaced a similar building to Crickets. SOUTH HOUSE, RED LODGE Simon, Joyce and Christopher Hall, South House, Red Lodge, December 1966 BROOK COTTAGE & HORN COTTAGE THE DYE HOUSE
- Streetfield, The Street
These houses, comprising eight homes, are on the left as you walk down the Street and are opposite Wheelers Farm 1 Streetfield Bob, Liz and David Etherington moved to "Anchor Cottage", 1 Streetfield, soon after David was born in September 1990. Jennifer was born in 1992. Bob worked locally for a computer recruitment agency in Godalming. Liz, having been a registered childminder for three years resumed part-time work at the National Westminster Bank. David and Jennifer went to school at All Saints, Tilford. July 1997 Edna and Robert Morgan, 2 Streetfield In 1996, Edna and Robert Morgan wrote, "This is one of the more modern houses in the village and is of no architectural interest what-so-ever, but it has been our home since it was built in 1948. Most building immediately after World War II was carried out by local authorities and Hambledon Rural District council erected six house in Thursley. The builders were Miltons of Witley. In 1956 the council gave tenants the opportunity to buy the properties so from then, over the years, we were able to improve the house. We have a panoramic view of The Street and have never considered making a move". No 2 Streetfield Cattle at rear of Streetfield, 1984 View of the village from the bedroom window of 2 Streetfield, c1965 The village from the garden of 2 Streetfield, Christmas Day 1981 Sale particulars for 2, Streetfield in March 2024 https://www.rightmove.co.uk/properties/145794980#/?channel=RES_BUY Dale Workman with her daughter, Tammy, 3 Streetfield, in 1997 Nick Wisdom, 4 Streetfield, 1997, where he has lived since the 1960s
- Keeper's Cottage
Keeper's Cottage is an isolated settlement within the Devil's Punch Bowl that is characteristic of woodland encroachment in the C16. It is served by a spring. Originally a two-cell building, it was altered and extended, probably in the mid-to-later C17 and C18. It is a Grade II listed building (27th November, 2015). This reproduction was photographed from a notelet. The original painting was by A R Quinton who first exhibited at the Royal Academy in 1879. He was born in 1853 and until his death in 1934, produced many paintings for reproduction by art publishers. Approach to Keeper's Cottage in the Punch Bowl
- Thursley Cricket Club
Photos only. For further information: https://www.facebook.com/ThursleyCricketClub/ A Thursley Cricket Match in 1992, Thursley Gentlemen v Gentlemen of Thursley Back row from right to left : Robert Ranson; Richard Leet-Cook; Alan Traill; Malcolm Coles; Mike Spencer; unknown; Paul Gubby; Barry Rapley; unknown; Alan Staves; John Puttock; Julian Watt; Tony Tilson; Aubrey Karn; Alan Wells, Tony Cheeseman and Brian Karn Front row from left to right : two unknowns; Peter Goble; Peter Andersen; Anthony Langdale; Ant Hodges; unknown; Simon Treadwell; unknown; Tim Wakeley A colour photograph of the same event.
- Church Cottages
More information required on 1 & 2 Church Cottages: 1 & 2 Church Cottages and St Michael & All Angels Church taken from the National Trust owned field in July 2025 2 Church Cottages before the extension, date unknown Newspaper cutting (undated) of 1 Church Cottage before the extension was added 1 Church Cottages showing the porch on the left side before the extension was added. The roof of a garage can be seen in the lane below. The photographs were given to Amanda Flint in August 2024, by a woman who had lived at 1 Church Cottages many years ago. View of The Street, the Church and Church Cottages Property details for 1, Church Cottages c2010: In 1996, Drusilla Pye wrote, "I came to live here (2 Church Cottages) in December 1956 when it was the tied cottage for the District Nurse. I was able to buy it from the Diocese in 1984. I retired in 1986. My work covered the Hindhead (Grayshott) Practice and I have covered most of the surrounding villages as a relief nurse/midwife on occasions." 2 Church Cottages, the first taken (obviously!) from the churchyard and the second from the front gate. The cottage had always been smaller than No1 but the new extension (2020) has given it a similar sized footprint. Photographs taken in July 2025.
- Hill Farm House
Formerly the Old Manor House, it is a Grade II listed building (9 March 1960) The house dates back to the 16 th Century in the back part and interior. It is a Grade II listed building, March 9, 1960. In 1952 the Cosford Estate was broken up and Hill Farm was Lot 19. The annotation on the relevant page of the sale catalogue notes that it was 'Sold to tenants' and the tenant was listed as Mr M L Rapley: Ron and Rosemary's grandfather farmed at Hill Farm. He went toLondon to claim his bride,The Lutyens's governess Maurice Rapley and pony Mr & Mrs Maurice Rapley with sons Vernon and Lionel and daughter Aileen Aileen Rapley, Maurice's daughter, school teacher. She left Thursley when war broke out. The stars of Mrs Fisher'schoir were the three Hill Farm Rapleys: Lionel; Vernon and Aileen who was also Miss Lutyens's daughter and Maggie Walters whom Vernon Rapley married. Lionel Rapley, Maurice's son, Rosemary Walker's father. Labrador breeder, founded Hilldown kennels. Church organist. Vernon Rapley nicknamed 'Bay', Maurice's son and Ron's (nicknamed Boy) father, chicken farmer. Lionel Rapley, church organist for many years Martin and Rosemary Rapley, son and daughter of Lionel Rapley The Reverend Edmund and Jane Haviland, 1998 Photograph above and below by Sean Edwards
- Shepherd's Cottage
This Grade II listed building (28th October, 1986) is situated at the end of The Lane and is undergoing extensive renovation. It was formerly known as Cherry Tree Cottage. We are grateful to the current owner for supplying the report below that was prepared by the HCUK Group. 1912 2025 1912 1969 Surnames of former owners include: Winter; Twyman; Holman
- The Lane, formerly Back Lane
See separate entries for Badgers, Shepherd's Cottage, Pax Cottage and Olde Hall. Photographs only Oak Cottage Surnames of former owners of Shepherd's Cottage include: Winter; Twyman. Holman Shepherd's Cottage Olde Hall A Mystery Solved! The photograph below has long mystified the society and despite its appearance in the Parish Magazine, nobody came forward to identify it. Step forward committee member, Sally Scheffers who would not let it go and continued to ask around. Finally the suggestion that it was the original front of the Back Lane cottages (ie Oak Cottage, Pax Cottage) was confirmed as you can see from the contemporary photographs.