Search Results
Search this site
324 results found with an empty search
- Thursley Artefects from the archives
In addition to the extensive paper archive (which we are continuing to catalogue and publish), there is also a collection of artefacts collected over the past many years. They are illustrative both of their period and life in the village of Thursley over the past many decades. We will be adding to this post as we catalogue more items so, if you are interested, remember to log back in from time to time. This is the content of a box of artefacts numbered 3: 1. Wooden carved wall plaque: About x”square. Stuck on back: "Carved by late George Warner of Thursley about 100 yrs old". No date given, but George Warner lived in Church Cottages and worked for the Fishers at Rock Cottage in the 1920s. In padded envelope addressed to Parish Clark, The Barrows, Seddle Road, Elstead. Elaine Felton? She may know more? 2. Plastic folder with notebook: Inside front printed: Regent (fuel), F. J. Barnard, "Half Moon", Thursley, Godalming 5883. 3. Tagged A 14 Box 3: Orange/red velvet handbag/purse containing intact sewing kit given as a 21st birthday present in 1903 to Edith Warner (Keen), daughter of Mary Keen of Pitt (Punch Bowl Farm). Stored in a maroon box. 4. Clothes brush: Backed on faux red leather. Regent (fuel) "With Compliments From F. Barnard, Half Moon, Thursley” 5. Tagged A 56: Flour scoop, Butter Pat, Pestle, Wooden Halter weight – smooth inside from use. 6. Labelled Box 3 397: Framed certificate: Surrey Fed of WI Drama Festival 1935 in Class Costumed Plays (Novice). 7. Labelled Box 36: Frame containing this necklace of Mrs Mays. Label in frame incorrect as George Mays (Mayes?) lived at Highcombe Farm that was, but it may have been called Boom Squires Cottage. Need to clarify. Delivered by Marg Hall. 8. Labelled Box 3 40**: Musket Ball. Found in a part of the timber frame of Dye House Granary. Donated by Charles Weedon. 9. Shoebox labelled A Box 3 8**: Containing dress, petticoat + bonnet for very young children made in the 1880s & worn until 1893 by Baker family of Upper Highfield Farm. Donated by Betty Weeden (née Baker). Also old ladies cotton cap worn by Elizabeth Keen of Upper Ridgeway Farm. Donated by Betty Weeden (nee Baker). 10.Patinated brass or bronze? plaque from The Clump + 1 screw**: "This Acacia tree was presented by Lieut-Col. W P H.Rushbrooke, and planted by the Chairman of the Surrey County Council on Saturday, December 15th, 1934, in memory of William Cobbett". 11.In blue striped paper bag marked 395 Box 3**: Mary Anne Smither's Work Book signed 1830. She married James Baker April 14th 1855. In brown envelope marked 396 Box 3: Plus James Smither's blank work book cover written on 1864. All pages photographed. This is the content of a box of artefacts numbered 2: 1) Tagged A 177 Box 2. Lump of oak: joint from Elizabethan Granary at Wheelers Farm during restoration in 1996. 2) Tagged A 209 Box 2. Mitton Challenge Trophy. Croquet Champion. 1985 M. F. Smart – Freda lived at Hilldown - Anne-Marie Emersic’s mother - 1986 GLJ Nightingale – John, Four Winds - 1987 Lady Stevens – Jane, Hill Farm - 1988 Mrs. J. Hawland - Jane, Hill Farm (same person! ) - 1989 Mrs P. Coles - Patricia, Upper Ridgeway Farm - 1990 Dr. J. Stoneham - John, Rack Close now Cotton House - 1991 J. R. Nightingale - Ruth, Four Winds Trophy donated by Dick Milton, plumber at Homefields, emigrated to Brazil. Tournament held on previous winner's garden so no one wanted to win! 3) Double frame containing cap badge of Lorne Scots Regt Canada. Other side photo of SR Barber & Lorne Scots Church Parade 1942. 4) Tagged 32 Box 2. Very small jam jar containing (& labelled). "Old china doll's head found in the village". SS's writing. 5) Small glass bottle labelled "This old ink bottle was found on the track leading into the Devil's Punch Bowl from Highfield Lane". SS's writing. 6) Stone ginger bottle, Stranafield Bros, Riply Surrey. Labelled "The Stone bottle was probably by day-trippers resting on the bank bay a field of Punch Bowl Farm". SS's writing 7) Stone ink bottle. 8) Set of old keys to current Village Hall. Large metal tag: Village Hall, return to Post Office, Main Hall N/W Door, Western Rear Doors. Communicating Door Hall/House, Club Room VH 5, Committee Room (Front). Village Hall *Soot Doors. Village Hall M L Jupe The Well House 9) Miscellaneous Bottles & Labels: - Wine Bottle (?) - Wine Bottle (?) - Dinneford's Magnesia Bottle - Boots The Chemists Bottle - Goodall Backhouse & Co Yorkshire Relish & Bottle - Squared medicine Bottle with stopper (may not be for that bottle) Above labelled “Variety of Bottles found at Punch Bowl Farm. 10) Rusty Hurricane Lamp: Fever Hand. Made in W Germany, so post war. 11) Old broken bottle (very old) hand blown base in green glow. Labelled "Old Broken Bottle Found Deep in the theant of a Hazel Tree at Punch Bowl Farm", Wrapped.
- Karn's Store and Thursley Stores
Alan Karn's baker's cart driven by Drew Milton, the roundsman. Jim Christmas's father was the baker. Alan Karn married Mary Barnard on September 18, 1902. Mary lived in Hindhead Nursery (now Upper Ridgeway Farm), but everyone knew her as "Auntie Jum" as in Jumbo. Betty Karn From the 1936 Register of Electors This brief history of Karn's store (continued below) was published in the Parish Magazine in May 1978 and in 'Lives of the People of Thursley' by The History of Thursley Society in 1996 Karn's Grocery shop. You can see the poplar tree which was a major landmark especially from the common. Alan and Sid Karn in the third photograph Karn's shop with Mrs Karn outside Karn's Grocer shop, 1897 The Christmas family including Jim as a young boy From Thursley Today, 1965 (see separate entry) Year unknown, illustration by Salli Tomlinson The Old Stores in 2009 The Old Stores c2020 from sale particulars
- Smallbrook Farm
From British listed buildings: Hall House. Early C16 core, refaced in C17. Timber framed, clad in sandstone rubble with brick patching and dressings, hipped plain tiled roof. Two storeys with corbelled stack to left of centre and stack to left end. Two 3-light, gabled, casement, on-eaves dormers to centre and one 3-light window to either end of first floor. Five windows to ground floor, irregularly spaced, under-cambered heads. Door to left of centre in large, open, gabled porch with arched entrances to front and sides with carved spandrels. Interior:- Some framing visible. Grade II, 29th April, 1986 Smallbrook Farm 1897 Cart Shed, footpath up to Church Cuts. Maria and Ann Levy, 1897. The sisters are in their milking gear, the hats, we decided, were to protect their hair from being dirtied by the cows, or to stop them getting ringworm. They rose at 5:30am for the milking - the rest of the family rising at 6:00am. Mrs W Levy of Smallbrook, Uncle Lancelot from Petersfield and their sister, Mrs Woods, from Hedge Cottage. Miss Maria Levy Ann Levy on her milk round in Thursley village, 1908. She and her sister, Lucy, ran the farm together. They managed the farm and the lodgers with the help of the carter and the cowman until 1931. The picture was taken outside Wheelers Farm. Smallbrook Farm, 1897 - the second row of trees are the elms of Highfield Lane which blew down. The second 1897 picture shows the added windows. The Granary, 1897, was pulled down by LadyThomas, you can still see the back wall and the steps. 1905 wedding of Edward Baker (Ted) of Upper Highfield Farm and Maria Levy of Smallbrook Farm. The photographs below are from Betty Weeden's album Betty Weeden In 1994-95, the History of Thursley Society (as it was then named), published Betty Weeden's brief history of the farm 1876 - 1939 in four parts. The first is reproduced below and the rest can be downloaded from the pdf: Mrs. G. G. R. Boon, of Smallbrook Farm, Thursley, with her 4-year-old chestnut gelding,Cetus, which won 25 first and two reserve championships at shows in the South of England during the past season. Mrs. Boon bought Cetus in Sweden in the spring of last year. It wasthen an unbroken 3-year-old. She schooled and trained the animal herself and rode it to win the fine array of trophies in the picture. Both Major and Mrs. Boon—the former is an Old Farnhamian—are well-known show jumpers. Stewart and Faith Wagner, 1996 Previous owners of Smallbrook Farm include: Levy; Wagner, Daw Sale details in February 2024: https://search.savills.com/property-detail/gbgursgus230100
- History of RAF Gibbet Hill
The RAF station next to Hindhead was envisaged as part of a short-range, blind-landing system to improve safety during night operations. However, during the course of development by the Telecommunications Research Establishment (TRE) near Swanage, the range was found to be far better than expected. It then developed into a long-range, general navigation system. There is also a report of a tragic air accident at RAF Gibbet. Hill during the closing stages of WW2. This article was kindly provided to the Thursley History Society by Dr John N Bennett. Photo from the Imperial War Museum These are just two pages of the 11 page report written by Dr John N Bennett The complete report is in this pdf: Sadly, there was a tragic air accident at RAF Gibbet Hill during the war, we are grateful to Paul McCue for this information as in his book, Dunsfold: Surrey's Most Secret Airfield 1942 - 1992, Paul wrote: "...[other former PoWs].....managed a lift to England in a Curtis Commando of the USAAF on 6th May 1945. As the aircraft headed for the American airfield at Membury [RAF Membury - USAAF Station AAF-466, station code ME] in Wiltshire [there's still a little of the airfield left but it is better known today as the location of Membury Services on the M4], it collided with the aerial of an RAF radio station on Gibbet, Hill, Hindhead. Although Dunsfold's medical services raced to the scene, all 31 men on board were found dead on impact, along with a Canadian officer from the radio station'. Here is the report: Date:Sunday 6 May 1945Time:12:54Type: Curtiss C-46D-10-CU CommandoOwner/operator:United States Army Air Force - USAAFRegistration:44-77839MSN:33235Year of manufacture:1945Fatalities:Fatalities: 30 / Occupants: 30Other fatalities:1Aircraft damage:DestroyedCategory:AccidentLocation:Hindhead - United Kingdom Phase:En routeNature:MilitaryDeparture airport: Newbury-Greenham Common RAF Station (EWY/EGVI) 8/10 cloud coverage at 600 feet caused the pilot to fly very low. The C-46 entered a valley where it struck the Gee tower about 1000m south east of the Gibbets Hill Gee tower. The airplane lost its right wing and crashed. Date & Time: May 6, 1945 at 1254 LT Type of aircraft: Curtiss C-46 Commando Operator: Registration: 44-77839 Flight Phase: Landing (descent or approach) Flight Type: Ambulance Survivors: No Site: Mountains MSN: 33235 YOM: 1945 Location: Hindhead Surrey Country: United Kingdom Region: Europe Crew on board: 2 Crew fatalities: 2 Pax on board: 28 Pax fatalities: 28 Other fatalities: 1 Total fatalities: 31 Circumstances: The crew was completing a flight to the US, repatriating wounded US soldiers. It was scheduled to make a stopover at RAF Greenham Common near Newbury, Berkshire. Starting the descent, the crew encountered low visibility with clouds to 600 feet. While flying in a mountainous area, the twin engine aircraft hit a radar antenna, lost its right wing and crashed in flames on a hut located on Mt Gibbet located near Hindhead, Surrey. All 30 occupants and one person in hut were killed. Crew: 2nd Lt John N. Boyce Jr., 1st Lt Herbert R. Chickering. Probable cause: It was determined that the crew started the approach in visual mode in IMC. The aircraft hit a 70 meters high radar antenna that was not visible because it was not equipped with lights. Also, the crew was unaware of the presence of the antenna as it was not showed on any charts. Here is a newspaper report: Evening Telegraph & Post, May 9, 1945 OVER 30 KILLED IN PLANE CRASH An aeroplane accident which occurred at Hindhead on Sunday afternoon resulted in the death of over 30 service personnel. An American transport plane, returning from the Continent, passed over the Punch Bowl flying low and afterwards collided with one of the tall pylons at the RAF radio station at Gibbet Hill. It was raining at the time and there was low mist over the district. The plane crashed on two huts in the station grounds and one of the station personnel was killed. The machine burst into flames and was practically destroyed. Of the 32 occupants of the plane – crew and passengers – not one survived. Life in the RAF at peacetime is captured here by AC1 Peter Hocking and we are grateful to his son, Steve Hocking, for the donation of his father's papers and the Signal Office Diary illustrated below: Illustration of the Diary and some pages to follow AC1 Peter Hocking at RAF Gibbet Hill RAF Gibbet Hill, June 1950: Watch List, Operators and Mechanics AC1 Peter Hocking's National Service Record Page 1 of Peter Hocking's recollections. The full account can be found in the pdf below. Peter Hocking's Discharge Papers
- Tweedsmuir Camp – Polish Military Exiles 1948
This article was written by Rosemary Stockdale for the Parish Magazine and includes accounts of life there written by Weis and Zen Rogalski. In 2012, the Rural Life Centre in Tilford mounted an exhibition, "Polish Exiles, Surrey's Hidden History, and this pamphlet complemented the exhibit: Here is a simpler 2pp version of the above: In addition, Weis and Zen Rogalaski also wrote this for the Rural Life Centre in Tilford:
- Cosford Mill
Cosford Mill, a Grade II listed building (19th June 1991) is part of the 70 acre Milhangar Estate once owned by Queen drummer Roger Taylor. The Mill is set in large grounds adjacent to a stream and mill pond. The Vale of Cosford - from a print dated 1812 Cosford Mill and the Bakehouse Richard Budd or Bodd, installed a new waterwheel made at a foundry in Reading. When Cosford Mill ceased to work, Budd moved to High Salvington in West Sussex. Many other photographs of the mill can be found here: https://catalogue.millsarchive.org/informationobject/browse?topLod=0&sort=relevance&query=cosford+mill The lane of beech trees near Cosford Mill in 1990's COSFORD MILL (From an undated sales brochure) Set in an idyllic, private location, a detached Mill House offering spacious accommodation, abundant natural light and a warm atmosphere in a peaceful setting with easy access to London Sitting room with Inglenook fireplace, large entertaining room, dining room, kitchen, master bedroom ensuite, three further double bedrooms, family bathroom, gardens, mill pond & stream, woodland Cosford Mill is situated in between Bowlhead Green and Thursley. It is positioned offering excellent access to the A3 and mainline train station without compromising the peaceful environment. A detached Mill House set an idyllic, private location. The property itself has been refurbished to a very high standard of finish, with generous accommodation and exceptional features. The property overlooks beautiful, calming views. Tiled porchway leading to:- Kitchen - Tiled floor, electric oven, dishwasher, fridge/freezer, washing machine/dryer and ample wall and base units. Reception 1 - Wooden flooring, large open fireplace, ample lighting. Reception 2 - Stone flooring with under floor heating, spacious room with the added feature of the Mill workings, ample lighting. Reception 3/Breakfast room - Leading to kitchen. Bathroom - W/C, wash hand basin, bath. Main bedroom - A generous double bedroom with built in wardrobe, access to balcony, added feature of Mill workings, plus en suite containing, heated towel rail, under floor heating, W/C, wash hand basin, bath, ample wall units. Bedroom 2 - Spacious double bedroom Bedroom 3 - Double bedroom, attic access in airing cupboard. Bedroom 4 - Spacious double bedroom with beautiful views Spacious landing area which could be used as a study area or open plan living area. The stairs and entire first floor have wall to wall carpeting. Large gardens with large pond and river feature. Tenure: Monthly Situation: Cosford Mill is situated in between Bowlhead Green and Thursley. It is positioned offering excellent access to the A3 and mainline train station without compromising the peaceful environment. Directions: Starting out at Savills Guildford, Quarry Street, turn right at the traffic lights onto Millbrook. At the Friary Bridge roundabout take the 2nd exit onto Farnham Road - A31. Continue on Farnham Road up the hill and turn left onto Down Lane. Merge onto the Guildford and Godalming By Pass Road and come off at the Thursley and Bowlhead Green junction. Turn left heading back on yourself and the property can be found down the second track on the right.
- St Michael & All Angels through the ages
From John Betjeman's Guide to English Parish Churches: "Pre-Conquest windows were discovered during aggressive restoration by Ferry in 1860; a triangular recess in the chancel has been interpreted as a Saxon oven for baking wafers. The nave is dominated by the timber cage supporting an impressive 15th-century wooden bell-turret" Memories of Revd H Gordon French, Vicar of Thursley 1932 - 1959 St Michael & All Angels: A Brief Guide From a leaflet originally compiled by the Revd A W Mills, Vicar 1959 - 1968 and revised in 1980 A Short Guide to The Parish Church of St Michael And All Angels An undated 6 page leaflet by Alan Bott, OBE, MA, FSA The interior of the Church before the installation of the organ and still with oil lamps The front of the Church before it was extended. The interior photograph of the Church shows the Gallery The West side of the Church Thursley Church, 1938 The illustration of the Church above comes from pages of a book held by Surrey Archeological Collections and reproduced in the pdf below 18th Century Table Tombs: "One of Thursley's landmarks, the large well-known old horse chestnut tree, at the Parish Church, fell victim to the gale on Monday evening (14th November 1977). Canon John Stevens, the vicar, said it was a miracle the tree did not fall the other way as it could have hit the church or it could have crashed on one of the cottages by the church. As it was, "it laid itself nicely across the road, blocking it." The church gate and a section of boundary wall have been damaged. The tree, thought to have been one of the largest horse chestnuts in Surrey, is referred to in tourist guide books and also has a brief mention in the Thursley Church Guide Book published in the 1960s which suggests it was 250 years old. Many years ago it was subject to tree surgery with iron rods holding the trunk together. These rods were made at the Elstead Forge by the late Guy Bovington, his daughter Mrs G Hewitt recollects. Many old Thursley residents and others, were sad to learn about the end of the tree under which, said one resident, "generations of Thursley have passed to worship in the church and for weddings, christenings and funerals". Picture shows Mr Otto Jaenicke who is over six foot tall and Miss A Ayres beside the roots of the fallen giant chestnut. Extract taken from The Herald of Friday, November 18th 1977 Most likely to have occurred in the early 1980s This is a link to the Church's website: https://parishesofetsph.org.uk/about-us/st-michael-and-all-angels-church/
- Highfield Lane
WORK IN PROGRESS: See separate entries for The Old Parsonage, St Michael & All Angles, Upper Highfield, Lower Highfield, Hedge Farm, Hall Farm Barns, Hill Farm House: *denotes separate entry Photograph by Sean Edwards THE OLD PARSONAGE* ST MICHAEL & ALL ANGELS* Photograph by Andrew Kaplanovsky HILL FARM HOUSE* Photograph by Sean Edwards Highfield Bungalows and Cottages. Photograph by Jill Fry Photographs by Sean Edwards HIGHFIELD BUNGALOWS 1 Highfield Bungalows, the home of Adrian, Teresa and George Linegar in 1997 2 Highfield Bungalows, this photograph of Ray and Peggy Stokes was taken in 1993 4 Highfield Bungalows, Eddie Gale photographed in 1997 Eddie Gale Mr & Mrs Arthur Gale on his son Jim's motorcycle outside Highfield Bungalows. Nos 3 & 4 Highfield Bungalows. Surnames of previous owners of No3 include: Winter and Dobson; of No4 include Avis, Woodger, Grant and Gale These, more recent photographs, were taken by Sean Edwards: HILL FARM COTTAGES HILL FARM BARNS* Photograph by Sean Edwards COPPER BEECHES Sale particulars in September 2025: https://www.knightfrank.co.uk/properties/residential/for-sale/highfield-lane-thursley-godalming-surrey-gu8/gld012456244 HOMEFIELDS Homefields is a cul-de-sac off Highfield Lane and consists of six 4-bedroom semi-detached houses that we built between the wars (1918 - 1939) with the majority being finished in 1937. An example of a house in Homefield that was marketed in 2025 Dick Winter and wife, Homefield Cottages THREE ACRES Thursley born and bred at Three Acres HALCYON FIELDS, formerly THE BRIARY Information to come Brian and Mary Sharp, The Briary, 1997 Halcyon Fields in June 2026 AMBLESIDE Sale particulars in September 2025: https://www.knightfrank.co.uk/properties/residential/for-sale/highfield-lane-thursley-godalming-surrey-gu8/gld012510005 FOUR WINDS Taken from 2018 sale particulars. View of Four Winds from Highfield Lane HILL HOUSE Hill House was purchased over 20 years ago and has since been demolished. In its place (photographs and other information to follow) are a timber framed farmhouse style property and some magnificent oak framed barns for cattle, pigs and other livestock. David and Catherine Phillimore, 1997 Surnames of previous owners of Hill House include: Middleton; Drewery; Edwards; THE WOODLARKS, formerly THE RONARY Ronary Bungalow was built in 1994 and named after Mary Rapley's original home nearby Mary Rapley, 1994 HILLDOWN Home of the Smarts and the Emersics in 1997 Anne Marie Emersic lives there now LOWER HIGHFIELD FARM* UPPER HIGHFIELD FARM* UPPER HIGHFIELD COTTAGE Sale particulars prepared by Knight Frank in 2024: LITTLE COWDRAY FARM COWDRAY CROSS Cowdray Cross under construction.
- Thursley School
Thursley School occupied the building that is now Thursley Village Hall. Here are plans of the Master's Residence dated February 1911 The file below contains correspondence and documents dating back to 1853 as well as a newspaper cutting dated 16th April 1960 about the village fighting for the recently closed school building to become the village hall in the face of Surrey Education's desire to turn it into a 'youth camp house. Thursley School, approximately 1880 Thursley School 1885 - 1890 (taken from a photocopy) Thursley School, approximately 1895. Edith Keen, sister of Jack, from Pit Farm (now Punch Bowl Farm), third row, third on the left. Edith married George Warner and lived at Sunset Cottage until their children grew up, when they moved to one of the Church Cottages. George Warner had a Kitchener moustache and had looked after the horses during the Great War in France. He took life easily although he had a good deal of work at Rock Cottage for the Fisher family. He ran the engine; groomed, harnessed and drove the ponies, cleaned the shoes and knives (not being of stainless steel, they were put into a sort of round box with a handle that turned); brought in the anthracite for the black stoves which heated the house and the coal for the kitchen range; milked and tethered the goats and looked after the field and garden. He was a very kind man and Mrs Warner, Mary Bennett remembers as a woman of uncommon goodness and sweetness. After her husband's death, Edith Warner lived with her daughter Dorothy (Issy) Messenger at Streetfield. Thursley School 1896 Thursley School, approximately 1900 Thursley School c 1900. Annie Cunningham of Bowlhead Green is 2nd row from back and 5th from right in braided dress. Thursley School, approximately 1904. Aileen Rapley, second row fourth on the left, in a 'chorus boy collar. Aileen was the daughter of Maurice Rapley who farmed at Hill Farm. Aileen became a school teacher. This undated photograph is from the same era judging by the boys' collars. On the back is inscribed, "Mary Ann Karn - Polly - Mrs Good's aunt". Thursley School, about 1914. Bottom row, third from the left, is Jim Gale, brother of Eddie. Miss Price is also in the picture. Miss Price married Jack Baker, brother of Annie, from Upper Highfield Farm and they lived initially at Hedge (now Rawdon) until they took over Wheelers Farm. Miss Price became a farmer's wife and had three children. Same male teacher as above but year unknown. Thursley School, about 1920. Betty Weeden née Baker, can be seen second row, third on the right. The headmaster was Leonard Moulding, Sidney's brother. Thursley School, about 1918-19, Aileen Rapley was the school teacher. Thursley School, about 1920. Third row, first on the right is Margaret (Mag) Cooper née Gale. Miss Price is also in the picture. Thursley School Group c1923 (I wonder who Me is?!) Thursley Church of England School 1924: Group 1 Stds IV - VII Thursley School 1926. Back Row: Cyril Boxall, Ron Wassel, Fred Boxall, Ron Volleer, Harry Aldridge, Erny West Second Row: Sid Doy, Vi Smith, Ivy Ford, A N Smith, Gladys West, Ivy Dixon Third Row: Harry Swallow (Headmaster), M Gale, D Cooper, M Upfold, G Lillywhite, Issy Warner, E Hater, Rose Boxall & Maggy Doy. First row, first on the left, Marg Hall née Warner from Sunset Cottage (Marg was Edith Keen and George Warner's daughter and Issy (Dorothy Messenger), Marg's sister, is also there in the second row, fifth from left), Olive Winter, Phyllis Beavan, Dorris Voller, Bill Keen, N Harris, Jean Milton & Kath Lawrence December 1926, pupils include Reg Fosberry and Albert Rapley Thursley School 1928. Back row, L - R, Vi Smith, Ivy Dixon, Flo Ridout, Mabel Upfold, Olive Winter. Middle row, L - R, Eileen Rapley, Hilda Doy, Grace Edwards, Lizzie Keen, Marg Smith, Kath West, Margery Warner, Nancy Harris, Phylis Beavan, Harry Swallow (Headmaster). Front Row, L - R, Lois Swall, Nancy Farmer, Minnie West, Ada Laurence, Daisy West, Kath Laurence. Gardening Photos 1937 Thursley School c 1947. L- R, Wendy Cooper, Ruth Monnery, Dorothy Harman, Ann Sharlon, Michael Bates, Edward Bates. Teacher's name is unknown. Thursley School 1950 Two photographs, and newspaper cutting, of the Revd H G French attending the school's open day in 1952 Probably c1952
- Dye House Road
WORK IN PROGRESS - Photographs only and see separate entries for The Three Horseshoes, Bears Barn, The Well House, The Old Vicarage, The Village Hall, The Corner, The Clump, The Dye House and Brook and Horn Cottages FOLDSDOWN The Patrick Family, Foldsdown, 1997 Surnames of previous owners of Foldsdown include: Parker; Jobson; Matthews FOLDSDOWN COTTAGE THURSLEY HOUSE Details to come of current building The above four photographs are of the original Thorcroft, now demolished, which sat on the site of Thursley House. A note on the reverse of the first photograph states, "In her will Miss Branchini donated money to the village hall". Pencil sketches of Thorcroft by Edward Langdon, 1963 THORCROFT HOUSE Taken from sale particulars from March 2026 Thorcroft is a 5 bedroom, 5 bathroom house that was built in 2006. It sits in 2.5 acres. https://www.knightfrank.co.uk/properties/residential/for-sale/dye-house-road-thursley-godalming-surrey-gu8/gld180207 THORFIELD THE VILLAGE HALL* VEAN COTTAGE This photograph by Sean Edwards Vean Cottage, November 2027 THE OUTLOOK Reg Fosberry in 1996 The Outlook was originally the workshop of the builder, William Karn Fosberry, he and his family lived at what is now known as Vean Cottage. He eventually converted it into living accommodation. As you can see, a studio was built at the back for the use of his brother-in-law, Henry Tozer, who lived at The Clump when it was a shop and Post Office. Eveline Lance, the artist, rented the house in the summer months, eventually coming to live there permanently in 1929. The studio was then used by her. After the Fosberry family sold Vean Cottage, they moved into The Outlook, where Reg, William's grandson still lives. The Outlook faces Thursley Common and lies behind The Clump and Vean Cottage THE CLUMP* THE CORNER* THE OLD POST HOUSE The Old Post House 1932 Old Post House and Sawyers c1965 Ben and Nancy Wonham, The Post Office The Old Post Office was extensively remodelled in 2022 Surnames of previous owners of The Old Post Office include: Davidson; Wonham; Wishart SAWYERS Sawyers c 1980 Sawyers, Mary Rapley and Elizabeth Copeman 1996/7 Surnames of previous owners of Sawyers include: Ellison; Arnold; Gabriel; Sparks; Copeman Sawyers in 2025 From sales particulars in 2025: https://www.rightmove.co.uk/house-prices/details/e4f55920-dde7-44c7-8602-dedfd1030af2?v=media&id=media1&ref=photoCollage THE THREE HORSESHOES* THE WELL HOUSE* BEAR'S BARN* THE OLD VICARAGE* CHETWYND COTTAGE Prudence Jones, Chetwynd Cottage MAGPIE COTTAGE Magpie Cottage was sold in 1952 as part of the break-up of the Cosford Estate: THE OLD STORES Information to come STORES COTTAGE Rodney and Tone Badcock, 1997 OVERDALE and CRICKETS Crickets, below, was built by the Canadian Army in World War 1 for the recuperation of wounded soldiers and is the original construction. Overdale, above, was built in 1985 and replaced a similar building to Crickets. FORGE COTTAGE Forge Cottage, September 2025 Sale Particulars in September 2025: https://www.knightfrank.co.uk/properties/residential/for-sale/dye-house-road-thursley-nr-godalming-surrey-gu8-6qa/gld0125845199331ea8c9b72&csg=34d3e8edf97180a5d7b02f5c163b59f66a8062d5dd02fed71b44555796fbb3bc/?channel=RES_BUY Previous owners of Forge Cottage include: Holford SOUTH HOUSE, RED LODGE Simon, Joyce and Christopher Hall, South House, Red Lodge, December 1966 Red Lodge, 1930 BROOK COTTAGE & HORN COTTAGE* THE DYE HOUSE*
- The Lane, formerly Back Lane
See separate entries for Badgers, Shepherd's Cottage, Pax Cottage and Olde Hall. Photographs only PAX COTTAGE* OAK COTTAGE Mr and Mrs Croft of Oak Cottage. He was a chimney sweep and she was a midwife. Previous owners of Oak Cottage include: Yalden Tone and Rodney Badcock outside Oak Cottage, September 1947 ROSE COTTAGE Property particulars in September 2025: https://www.rightmove.co.uk/properties/160192829#/media?id=media0&ref=photoCollage&channel=RES_BUY BADGERS* SHEPHERD'S COTTAGE* Surnames of former owners of Shepherd's Cottage include: Winter; Twyman. Holman OLDE HALL* A Mystery Solved! The photograph below has long mystified the society and despite its appearance in the Parish Magazine, nobody came forward to identify it. Step forward committee member, Sally Scheffers who would not let it go and continued to ask around. Finally the suggestion that it was the original front of the Back Lane cottages (ie Oak Cottage, Pax Cottage) was confirmed as you can see from the contemporary photographs. Cottages in Back Lane
- Mathwall Engineering Ltd, (Purple Engineering Ltd), Thursley: a brief history
Thursley History Society has put transport as the main focus of its activities in 2026. We are delighted to publish this history of Mathwall Engineering written by Peter Hunter. Yesteryear Today, July 2026 The transition of the Red Lion Garage from what it was in the days of Reg Cottle (see: The Red Lion Garage, Reg Cottle and many road traffic accidents) to today’s modern state of the art motor engineering centre is quite staggering. The Red Lion Garage was first established in the 1930s and was eventually taken over from Reg Cottle by Mathwall Engineering Ltd in 1978 when they moved from their original premises in West Byfleet. Mathwall Engineering Ltd was formed in 1967 by Stuart Mathieson and Peter Wallace, both of whom had left Alan Mann Racing having worked on the highly successful Ford racing programmes. See: About – Mathwall Mathwall’s primary business was, and remains, the development of high-performance internal combustion engines to be used in motor sport - something they have done successfully for many clients over several continents. See Mathwall’s 50th anniversary brochure from 2017 which is reproduced in full in the pdf below: One of the company’s most famous efforts was in conjunction with Alan Mann racing with the engineering of the Ford GT40 Mk ll that came 1st, 2nd & 3rd in the 1966 24 Hour Le Mans Grand Prix. In fact, all three cars crossed the finishing line precisely together in a photo finish following team orders. The race stewards then had to decide the winner, which they did by choosing the car that was furthest from the start line at the beginning and therefore had travelled some few metres further than the others. That car was driven by Bruce McClaren with Ken Miles, who had been the overall leader, placed second. This development came about due to the competition between Mr Henry Ford ll and Sig. Enzo Ferrari. About that time Henry Ford ll wanted to acquire the Italian specialist car manufacturer but was rebuffed by Enzo. This led to Ford determining that they were therefore going to beat Ferrari on the track. In order to achieve this, they turned to the British engineering firm, Alan Mann Racing, which Stuart Mathieson was part of. The whole of this story of competition between Ford and Ferrari was the basis for the very successful film ‘Le Mans 66’ produced in 2019 by 20th Century Fox and starring Matt Damon and Christian Bale. Later in the 80’s here in Thursley, Stuart Mathieson prepared cars and engines for Stirling Moss (Sir). During this period of cooperation Stirling’s 1965 Shelby GT350 Ford Mustang was frequently seen at the Goodwood Motor Circuit and on one such occasion in 1992 Lord March decided to launch the Festival of Speed, which has now become a popular annual event in the motor racing calendar. It was in 1909 when Moss and Mathieson were at the T&I Super Sports Festival at the Okayama Circuit in Japan, Stuart was pleased to see that almost all of the V8 powered cars on the grid were fitted with Mathwall engines prepared in Thursley. These cars all achieved speeds well in excess of 200 mph. In 2007 Stuart Mathieson handed over the business to his son, Mark Mathieson. The company continued to invest in new technologies and facilities, one of which was an advanced dynamometer. A dynamometer or "dyno" is a device for simultaneously measuring the torque and rotational speed (RPM) of an engine, and for many years the Formula 1 engines from McClaren Motors of Woking were tested here in Thursley. It would not be surprising that not many villagers would have been aware of this as the extreme noise made when these engines reach peak performance was well contained in a fully soundproofed 20’ container! Mark Mathieson has been a leading light in the motor sport world since he graduated from the University of Bath (MPhil) with a Postgraduate Research in Engine Design & Development. Between 1999 and 2008 Mark was head of F1 high performance engines and Formular One Development Manager at Mercedes. For eleven years from 2008 he was working for McClaren motors both as chief engineer of the power train sector and Director of McClaren Applied Technologies. Mark Mathieson was awarded an MBE for his and his team at McClaren work on developing in record breaking time the urgently required medical Ventilator during the Covid-19 pandemic. The associated company, PurpleSector* is now also located at the Red Lion Garage premises here in Thursley and specialises in fast development of technologies spanning a plethora of industries and as their website states: “Born in the white heat of Formula 1™, we’re an engineering-led, data-driven consultancy that builds solutions for complex, high value challenges.” So now the Red Lion Garage has truly leapt from the post steam age to the highest level of technology in the 21st century. It is to be noted that a Thursley resident, Andrew Shepherd, had his racing AC Cobra prepared by Mathwall for many years. Further, it would seem that our Parish is becoming quite a centre of Formula 1 celebrities with the addition of the well-known CEO of McClaren Racing (Woking), Zak Brown and his wife, becoming permanent residents. * In Formula 1 Motor Racing, each circuit is divided into three sectors, roughly one-third of the track each, to allow detailed analysis of lap performance. A purple sector occurs when a driver records the fastest time of anyone in that sector during a practice, qualifying, or race session. The term comes from F1’s color-coded timing system, where purple represents the best or fastest sector time, green indicates a personal best, and yellow shows no improvement. Mathwall’s 50th Anniversary in 2017











