Search Results
Search this site
324 results found with an empty search
- Queen Elizabeth’s Diamond Jubilee 2012
The Diamond Jubilee in 2012 celebrated the 60 years since the accession and was marked with a spectacular central weekend and a series of regional tours throughout the UK and Commonwealth. Photograph from The New York Times The central weekend began with The Queen’s visit to the Epsom Derby on the Saturday. On the Sunday, ‘Big Jubilee Lunches’ were held across the UK: building on the already popular ‘Big Lunch’ initiative, people were encouraged to share lunch with neighbours and friends as part of the Diamond Jubilee celebrations. The Thames Diamond Jubilee Pageant also took place on the Sunday, with up to 1,000 boats assembled on the Thames from across the UK, the Commonwealth and around the world. The Queen and The Duke of Edinburgh travelled in the Royal Barge which formed the centrepiece of the flotilla. On the Monday, a host of famous faces came together to celebrate the Diamond Jubilee against the backdrop of Buckingham Palace for a concert organised by Take That singer and songwriter Gary Barlow for the BBC. Performers included Will.i.am, Stevie Wonder, Grace Jones and Kylie Minogue. Following the concert, The Queen lit the National Beacon: one of a network of 2,012 Beacons which were lit by communities and individuals throughout the UK, Channel Islands, the Isle of Man and the Commonwealth. In Thursley, as is tradition now, again a large marquee was erected in the garden of the village hall and a feast of pig roast was served to all villagers:
- VE Day Exhibition and dinner, Sunday 14 November 2021
The Village Hall was open from 10am to 4pm for visitors to view the fascinating memorabilia, read the villagers' stories and remember the lives of all who lived through the war years at home and overseas. Later there was a dinner in the Village Hall (photographs courtesy Valérie Ferris)
- The American Lutyens Trust Visit to Thursley
Tuesday 1st October 2019 On their first visit to the UK, The American Lutyens Trust selected Thursley, where Lutyens grew up, to start their tour and view his early architectural work. Many were architects in their own right and were enchanted by both the village and its hospitality. Coffee was served in Sallie Roles barn followed by a walk through the village, accompanied by Martin Lutyens, past Prospect Cottage (The Institute) , Street House (where Lutyens grew up), through the gardens of Corner House (his first architectural commission) and up to the Church and Luytens's connections in the graveyard. This was followed by a delightful lunch in the pub, much enjoyed by everyone. One of the party had a small piece of glass and a sharpened piece of soap, the tools used by Lutyens in his teenage years wandering around the local countryside, who demonstrated how Lutyens copied the local architecture to provide him in later years with a source of architectural details. Christmas card sent to Mr and Mrs Anthony Langdale in 2024
- A brief history of the Parish and the Village published 1951
An excerpt from a little brochure written in 1951, sadly, author unknown, but published “in aid of Thursley Festival Funds” at price 6d (old pennies for those who don’t remember!). The view from Dye House Road towards The Clump - 1925. Thursley 1951 A Brief History of the Parish and Village. “When writing a brief history of Thursley, it is difficult to distinguish between fact and fiction: between actual events and romantic yarns, which everyone has heard from their ancestors. The generations of Thursley’s inhabitants appear to include honest hard-working labourers, hard-working smugglers and hard-working highwaymen amongst those who have created its history. A variety to please all! Many years ago, the parish boundaries of Thursley extended as far as Haslemere, but now they are greatly curtailed. They run round Thursley Common, including Warren Mere and cut across to Bowlhead Green, almost to Brook, then back past Boundless Farm to the Devil’s Punch Bowl. They then continue round the bowl to Pitch Place, down to Truxford and back on to the common again. Naturally the Portsmouth Road has always had its influence upon Thursley’s life and villains often frequented it as it was a great source of revenue to the highwaymen. There is believed to be a secret underground passage running from the back of Foldsdown to the sandy bank at the foot of the hill below Millhanger (remember this was 1951, before the A3 extension - ed), through which they made good their escape after holding up the coaches, as they toiled up the hill. It has even been hinted that the local clergy had held up coaches themselves in order to improve depleted church funds. The church is largely Saxon, although it has been enlarged and restored. There is an old Saxon oven which was used for baking the Communion wafers and for heating charcoal for incense. The font is almost certainly Saxon and the massive oak timbers supporting the steeple make a structure which is probably unique. Inside, there is an interesting 16th century oak chest, fitted with three locks. Each warden was provided with a key for one lock and by this method, their honesty was never allowed to be in doubt. Not much is known about the very early history of Thursley; a few Neolithic implements have been found, mainly axe heads and arrow heads. However, during the 15th and 16th centuries, the woollen cloth industries flourished at Godalming, and although it was illegal to weave cloth outside the cloth towns, two Surrey families, the Hooke’s and the Chitty’s carried on the industry at Thursley. In the 17th century, Thursley became a centre of the iron smelting industry. The iron mills were built near a brook on Thursley Common, which was widened in places to make the ponds, known as the Hammer Ponds. These were used for cooling the iron as it was smelted. Gradually, the iron industry with its attendant occupation of charcoal burning, died out, and by the end of the 18th century, very little iron was worked. It is generally accepted that the first four cottages in The Lane (now Back Lane) were used as workshops, connected with the industry, while the cottages above them were the dwelling houses of the workmen. Silk weaving, at the beginning of the 19th century took the place of iron smelting, and the mills were also built near the Hammer Ponds. Much raw silk was reputedly smuggled from France to the mills at Warren Mere, then onto Dye House, where it was dyed before disposal. The smuggling activities were no doubt very profitably managed, and at a later date even whiskey was supposed to have been hidden away in cellars under Upper Highfield Farm and its outbuildings. It is said that the horses used to transport the whiskey, were taken to The Forge where the shoes were turned back to front in order to fool the customs officers. After the decline of the silk weaving industry, the common was left to sheep; quite large flocks being raised on the excellent grass, which at that time, covered Thursley heath. Thursley has now almost healed the scars of the last war and is peaceful once more. How will the future compare with the past? The facts show us Thursley is as lovely and industrious as ever, its countryside unrestricted to us in almost every direction, but no doubt the imagination can still visualise a smuggler behind every door”.
- Old A3 by the village
Photographs and film only A3 between The Red Lion and the Red Lion Garage Recovery vehicles at the Red Lion Garage A3 between The Red Lion and the Red Lion Garage A3 between The Red Lion and the Red Lion Garage (The Half Moon was demolished when the A3 became a dual carriageway: see also the entry for The Half Moon) YouTube film 'Hindhead - the old A3': https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZpZVcZkG7dc
- Thursley in 1965: Introduction
This introduction was contributed by Mrs Bennett of Rock Cottage, Thursley Women’s Institute President from 1963 to 1965. In the sixty-five years of this century, Thursley has changed much less in outward appearance than many other villages within 40 miles of Hyde Park Corner. We have no industries and no housing estates. There has been very little private building except for two shortish rows of council houses, Homefield (built between the wars) and Streetfield (built after World War II), three pairs of bungalows opposite the church, originally meant for old people, and the new old people’s flats that stand in what used to be the school playground, the village looks much as it did – only tidier and better painted – when the older of us were children. Perhaps it is this comparative lack of outward change that gives us the historical sense that comes out so clearly in the following contributions to our Jubilee book. We all set out to give an account of what we are doing now: we almost find ourselves starting from what we used to do, so this is very largely a picture of the present as it has developed from the past. How will our present seem a generation hence? For although the village may look much as it did, it has probably changed socially more in our lifetime than in all its previous history. None of us can remember very well the time when there was no drainage and no electricity, when one or two cottages did not even have ovens, and when it was still possible to see a farmer sowing broadcast, pacing from one end of the field to another with the rooks behind him. Now houses are comfortable and well equipped and farms highly mechanised. Then children went to the village school on foot often wearing their elders’ cut-down or patched clothes. Now, nicely dressed, they go off to Milford on the school bus. Then most of the land and buildings belonged to one landlord, and most of the village made its living in one way or another from farming. Now a great many people, and all the farmers, own their own property, and people who live in Thursley, practise, or have retired from, many different occupations. Then there was an active smithy. Now many people – perhaps most – have cars. And so on. Will the next generation see changes comparable to those we have seen? Perhaps this record of Thursley in 1965 will help them to find out.
- The Royal Garden Party in 1965
This account was contributed by Mrs Malins. On May 31st 1965, the Queen gave a Garden Party at Buckingham Palace to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the WI. One member from each Institute was invite – about 9,000 in all. I was lucky to be drawn in the ballot to represent Thursley. Fortunately except for one short shower the day was fine though cold. A large number of WI members went by special train or coach, others by car, etc. The vehicles were given a large X to display on the windscreen so that the police would give them pride of place. We drove through the main gates and alighted in the outer forecourt. We then went in two processions on either side across the inner court and thence round to the gardens. As we were allowed entrance well in advance of the Queen’s arrival, it enabled us to have a good look round the grounds. The big pond in the centre with the pink flamingos attracted much attention. Unfortunately, the roses were not fully out but rhododendrons and azaleas were still blooming. We also saw the caravan used by the Royal children. There were two large tea tents – one for the Royal party and their chief guests and the other for us. Promptly at 4:00pm the band played the National Anthem and the Queen and the Duke and their party came out on to the terrace and were introduced to the important members of the WI. They descended and with the Duchess of Gloucester and Princess Marina and Princess Alexandra circulated among the crowds and made their separate ways to the Royal tea tent. I found myself quite close to the Duke who chatted freely to all and sundry near him. The Queen, who was dressed in a very pretty shaded pink costume and pink hat, was proceeded by six Gentlemen at Arms with the tall halberds. The Duke came up in the rear with cheery words to us all. We were a crowd – practically all women in gay costumes and hats which was most colourful. We then made our way back going this time up on to the terrace and through the Palace and so home. Thus ended a most enjoyable and unforgettable day. Many thanks to Her Majesty for giving members of the WI such a wonderful party.
- Some local maps, mostly historic
Map by Rocque, 1768 Map of Thursley in 1965 Map by Mudge, 1816
- Thursley Parish Council in 1965
This account was contributed by Mr Michael Jupe of the Well House. Since it was established by the Local Government Act of 1894, Thursley’s Parish Council has no doubt seen many periods of varying activity; the recorded minutes through its first 50 years leave very much to the imagination. However, there can be no doubt that the activity during the past 20 years has steadily intensified. The present council was elected on 13th May 1965 and consists of seven members, namely Messrs J H L Bozward (businessman), S J Hall (farmer), Mrs F G Jupe, Messrs M L Jupe – Chairman (Member of the Stock Exchange), C Petersen (solicitor), Mrs C M Williams and Mr B W Wonham (Post Office). The Clerk is Mr B A Ashley (school master). This council succeeds to a period in which the major interest was the acquisition of the former village school building to serve as a new Village Hall. In regard to the latter, the council serves only as a trustee but has been greatly involve in the negotiations and has a continuing concern for the effective establishment of the “new” hall as a village centre offering the widest possible range of facilities. A Parish Council’s powers are limited to a relatively humble field of interests and even within this field its activities are limited by its finances as it may, in general, spend only a four-penny rate; this may be increased to an eight-penny rate by reference to a parish meeting. At present, in the parish of Thursley, a one-penny rate yields approximately £100. Even so, our Council finds enough business to necessitate approximately monthly meetings throughout the year. One of its most important, if unspecified, functions is to receive and transmit to the higher authority requests and complaints about matters of local concern. For instance, complaints about the irregular running of the school bus which is organised by the County Education Authority. The Parish Council has no official powers in the field of planning, but it is being increasingly accepted that the Parish Council is a useful watchdog and has most useful local knowledge, and in the Rural District outline details of all planning applications are now referred to the parishes for comment, if desired. The parish extends well over 5,000 acres to Gibbet Hill, Hindhead, almost to Elstead, and from the Churt Road to Brook, with a population of approximately 650. This area lies substantially within the officially designated Surrey Hills Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. It is probable that, later in the year, the region will be subject to visitation by the Local Government Commission which has powers to recommend sweeping changes in the regional boundaries. As Thursley lies near the county boundary, it is possible that it may be affected if any changes are recommended. If not, at this stage the possibility exists at a later stage when the County Council will review internal boundaries. Members of the council are conscious of a general lack of public interest in their activities. The election this year occurred with no apparent topic of contention as a background and the top candidate received 106 votes from an electorate of 453. The highest poll in recent years has not exceeded 35 per cent and this was very high compared with the average. The council is a member of the Surrey County Association of Parish Councils which is affiliated to the National Association, the latter body having been responsible for much enhancement of the status of the parish council generally.
- Thursley in the 50s and 60s
Photos from a file called Eddie Morgan's Album. The cars and number plates give a clue but the best comes from the Thursley Cricket float which was clearly taken in 1960.
- Louis Keene 1888 - 1972
The artist, Louis Keene, was born in England Keene spent his youth in South Africa and most of his life in Canada but studied art in London, Paris and Munich. He was stationed in Tweedsmuir Camp during World War II. Alert near Aldershot during the Battle of Britain, 1940 This article is from https://www.artbiogs.co.uk/: Born in England Keene spent his youth in South aftrica and most of his life in Canada but studied art in London, Paris and Munich. He came from an artistic background: his mother was a prominent photographer (the first woman to be elected to the Royal Photographic Society) and his father and artist and craftsman. When he was only 17 Louis and his father held a joint exhibition of their paintings in South Africa. Keene travelled throughout his life,in Europe but also Egypt, Turkey, Morocco, Hong Kong, Mexico and Siberia. Throughout his army career Keene was an avid artist, using watercolour, ink and pencil, and India ink and chalk to create his pictures. They range from scenes he completed in Siberia during WWI (Canadian Expeditionary Force) to WWII paintings inspired by events in Surrey and London. When Keene was stationed at Tweedsmuir Camp (Surrey) during the Second World War, he permitted a few of his paintings to be exhibited in Thursley village (in close proximity to the camp) in aid of the roof fund for St Michael’s church, Thursley. Many of Keene’s works are held at the Canadian Museum of Civilization Corporation (CMCC). Keene had a distinguished career in both World Wars. In WW1 he was commissioned as second lieutenant and was wounded at Ypres his right hand smashed by shrapnel. He later spent six months with the Canadian Army in Siberia. In the Second World War, as Commanding Officer of the Lorne Scots he witnessed the bombing of Liverpool and London. He was presented to King George VI and Queen Elizabeth and Prime Minister David Lloyd George. On 20 March 1943 ‘The Hamilton Spectator’ (Canadian newspaper) announced that NDHQ had promoted Lieutenant-Colonel Louis Keene to full Colonel, with address of his next of kin. Hereafter Keene has been referred to as Colonel Keene of Oakville, Ontario. Reporting in the Spectator on 4 December 1944 Doug How, Canadian War Correspondent, stated that Keene’s promotion, in February 1943, made him the highest ranking Lorne Scots Officer serving in western Europe. Throughout his army career Keene was an avid artist, using watercolour, ink and pencil, and India ink and chalk to create his pictures. They range from scenes he completed in Siberia during WWI (Canadian Expeditionary Force) to WWII paintings inspired by events in Surrey and London. According to his Obituary, While in England Col. Keene did some paintings of the air raids and these were later purchased by the British government. Some of his wartime paintings were also sold to the Canadian government and the artist later sold several of his works to Sir Edmund Walker, Canadian financier and one of the founders of the Toronto Art Gallery.
- The Harvest Supper returns to Thursley: 2024 & 2025
The Harvest Supper was celebrated in the village hall to great acclaim on Saturday, 21st Septermber 2024. The idea of resurrecting the event came from Susanne Hunter, Sally Scheffers, Tamsin Taylor Matthews, Lisa Woods and Lizzie Young (who also selected the readings). Sarah O'Brien spoke on behalf of her father, Michael, who unfortunately could not attend. His well-chosen words are below. (It was so successful that it was repeated in 2025) Welcome. I am not the only one here who will remember the first Thursley Harvest Supper in 1972 - 52 years ago - but we are becoming fewer. That first supper was the idea of the then vicar, Kenneth Matthews, who had a distinguished service record serving as the padre onboard HMS Norfolk during her major actions during WWII. During that time, he witnessed the important role ‘community spirit’ played in bonding everyone together. One of my roles that first year, and many times after, was to organise the seating plan. It was hard to please everyone, and a certain Brian Camp was often very critical! I am happy to have relinquished that task. So, if any of you have complaints about who you are seated next to this evening - I am not your man! This leads me to thank everyone who has worked so hard to revive this wonderful supper. The committee: Lisa Wood, Lizzie Young, Sally Scheffers, Susanne Hunter and Tamsin Taylor Matthews and the many others of you who have cooked the food and helped set up the hall. It all looks wonderful and I hope this custom can be continued for many years to come. Michael O’Brien, The Lodge A huge effort had been made to make the tables attractive and the night sky joined in to help Photographs by Alex Smart Between the main course and dessert, these readings were given by villagers: Photographs by Alex Smart The event was such a success that it was repeated in 2026 Photographs by Valérie Ferris This article written by Lizzie Young on the 2025 Harvest Supper, first appeared in the November 2025 issue of the Parish Magazine: Saturday 4 th October was the second revival Harvest Supper. Lit by the harvest moon, villagers converged in the hall for an evening of comfort food, convivial company, and a light entertainment on the eve of Harvest Festival at St Michael and All Angels. Seating is deliberately mixed to give us all the chance to meet new friends. It gave us a deep sense of joy to look around the room at 10pm, to see every seat still filled, and to hear the delightful hum of good conversation. James Maclean, Jackie Malton, Peter Hunter, James Mendelssohn, Tricia Horwood, Tom Taylor-Matthews, Valerie Ferris, Jane Howard, David Beechey and Hannah Moore were our brave readers, and their poems, letters and lists gave us all a chuckle, a moment of gratitude and a pause for thought. Thank you to each of them for their willingness to take to the mike. So many thanks are due. It’s a wonderful thing that when a call for assistance goes out, it is answered warmly by so many. The committee – Susanne Hunter, Sally Scheffers, Tamsin Taylor-Matthews, Claire Dailly and Lizzie Young – are more than grateful to the many cooks who delivered their delicious cottage pies, cheese straws and apple crumbles to the hall, to the willing and hardworking crew of young women washing up behind the scenes, to the unsung heroes who arrived to help with tables and chairs, and with flowers. As ever, the phenomenal group effort to take down at the end of the evening makes light work of a mammoth task, and gets the committee into their beds before midnight. The evening is not a fund raiser, as such, but thanks in no small part to the generosity of our home cooks, we made some money to add to the collection taken the following morning. All profits go to Step by Step, our Parish’s chosen charity. Step by Step works with young people across Surrey, Berkshire, Dorset, Wiltshire and Hampshire, meeting their needs in accommodation, advice, and well-being, and aiming to help those who are lost back onto paths that will lead to happier, safer lives. We hope to see you all again next time. The readings in 2026: For both events, Sally Scheffers produced these lovely vases, each carrying hand-lettered text and dates











