Search Results
Search this site
324 results found with an empty search
- Brook Cottage and Horn Cottage
Linked as they so often appear together in photographs: Brook Cottage and Horn Cottage 1900. As you can see Red Lodge had not yet been built. Brook Cottage had been the workhouse and in 1841, 30 people were living there. Horn Cottage 1950 shows its back garden when Charles and Betty Weeden lived there. In times gone by, it was a pub called 'The Horns' . Rear of Horn Cottage, c 1965. previous surnames of owners include: Partington; Weeden; Brown; Newman; Chapman Brook Cottage is a symmetrical “Cottage Ornee”, built of stone with brick quoins, clay roof tiles and with thin drip mouldings above the windows. The style is of a 17th century central chimney house but the house is not timber-framed and would seem to be of a late 18th century rebuild on an earlier site. The cottage was The Poor House and in the 1861 census there were twenty-six occupants of whom eight were aged over 80 years! Two loft openings were made from the original bedrooms in 1980 and chalk dates showing “1851” were found on the chimney base. Considerable quantities of straw and other debris were lying on and between the rafters perhaps indicating a previous thatched roof. During excavations in 1994 a clay bottle was unearthed from a hole at the side of the brook and has been dated between 15th and 16th centuries, possibly confirming earlier occupation the site. The cottage was extended in the 1970s and again more considerably in 1894 when the old staircase was removed and new stairs installed to give access to both the original bedrooms in the old cottage and the new rooms at the rear of the enlarged structure. The present owners, Alison and Peter Anderson and family, have lived in the Cottage since 1978. June 1997 June 1997
- The Cosford Estate
Cosford House estate is an historic property dating back many centuries and it included several properties such as Cosford House, Cosford Mill, and various cottages. The name Cosford is believed to be derived from the Old English words "cōs," meaning a choice or election, and "ford," referring to a river crossing. It is presumed that the estate was named due to its location near a significant crossing on the River Wey. The first documented reference to Cosford House dates back to the 13th century when it was mentioned in a landholding document. See also Sale of the Cosford Estate, June 1952 From Historic England: In the medieval period, Cosford House was owned by the de Thurmarsh family, who were prominent landowners in the area. The estate remained in their possession for several generations until it changed hands through marriage in the 14th century. Over the following centuries, the ownership of the estate continued to pass between various families, including the Albury, Bray, and Evelyn families, who were all prominent figures in English society. In the 17th century, Cosford House underwent a significant transformation when it was purchased by Sir John Evelyn. Sir John was a renowned diarist, horticulturist, and author, best known for his invaluable work in the field of arboriculture. He extensively renovated the hall and its surrounding gardens, turning it into one of the most luxurious and impressive estates in the region. Sir John Evelyn's influence is still evident in the estate today, with remnants of his exquisite garden designs and landscaping. During the 18th and 19th centuries, Cosford House continued to thrive under the stewardship of various owners. The estate saw numerous additions and improvements, including the construction of additional outbuildings, such as stables, a chapel, and farm buildings. The hall and its grounds became renowned for their grandeur and elegance, drawing visitors from far and wide. In the early 20th century, Cosford House faced a period of decline as the estate's owners faced financial difficulties. The estate was bought by the trustees of Robert May's School in Odiham in 1913, and the archives of the school record their stewardship of the farm and its relations with tenants. However, this endeavour was not to last and the school closed in the mid-20th century. In 1952 the estate was broken up into 25 lots at an auction held in Guildford (see Sale of the Cosford Estate). Colonel Philip (W.P.H.) Rushbrooke and his wife, Hilda photographed in the early 1930s. Hilda sold the estate on the death of Philip in 1951 and went to live on the coast. The estate was very impoverished as such low rents were charged. Hilda Rushbrooke, who was Irish, and unfortunately stone deaf. We believe she married Philip in the early 1930s. In more recent years, the estate changed hands several times, with different owners attempting to restore the former glory of Cosford House. Numerous restoration and preservation projects have taken place to ensure that the hall and its surrounding gardens maintain their historical significance. Today, Cosford House remains a private residence and is not open to the public. About 1900, no climbers visible on the house. According to the rate book of 1854, Cosford Estate was owned by Colonel George William Eyres. The rate book of 1870 lists Miss Rushbrooke as the owner. Cosford House in the 1920s with the creeper on the house. Captain Rushbrooke is listed in the rate book of 1884 but may have been here earlier. The staff at Cosford House in the late 1920s. Philip Rushbrooke took over the estate on the death of his father. Pageant at Cosford House in the late 1920's
- Badgers
Photographs only of this Grade II listed property (9th March 1960) in The Lane. The house was lived in by Russell Brockbank and his wife, Eileen, from 1951 to 1978 (see also two entries for Brockbank). Badgers, April 2025 Surnames of previous owners include: Wade; Brockbank; Collins. A view from the garden of Badgers, c 1980/90
- Prospect Cottage, formerly The Institute
Thursley Institute , now Prospect Cottage, was originally built as a working men’s club. The Parish register states – ‘the site for the institute was given by Captain H Rushbrooke, the architect was Sir Edwin Lutyens , the builder was Mr W K Fosberry. The building was formally opened and given to the Parish Council on February 11th, 1901’. Captain Rushbrooke paid for much of the building itself and took a paternal interest in the running of the club. Reg Fosberry gave Thursley History Society one of the original Lutyens architectural drawings, as shown below, now in their Archives. The Institute with The Lodge in the distance The Institute comprised a reading room, a billiards and games room and accommodation for the caretaker. Until 1914 one of the bedrooms was used by the Thursley Parish Nurse. The institute was disbanded in 1959 and was sold for residential use in 1968. The, then, conditions of sale included an interesting clause, presumably inherited from the rules of the institute, forbidding the purchaser to use the building for the ‘discussion of political or religious subjects ….or for the consumption of intoxicating liquors’ . Prospect Cottage, 1988. Surnames of previous owners include: Goble; La Mare; Jones; Richmond Prospect Cottage 1997 Barbara Richmond in 1997; and with neighbour, James Maclean, in May 2003. She lived in Prospect Cottage for many years, was an actress and her husband was involved in the theatre. She trained dogs for the blind for many years and is pictured here with two of her guide dogs that she demonstrated with.
- St Michael & All Angels: re-shingling the tower and spire
The church was re-shingled with chestnut tiles from France in September 1986. The steeplejack was Mr Harknett. This was found during the re-shingling
- Hill Farm House
Formerly the Old Manor House, it is a Grade II listed building (9 March 1960) The house dates back to the 16 th Century in the back part and interior. It is a Grade II listed building, March 9, 1960. Rear view of Hill Farm House in the early 1990s. Surnames of previous owners include: M Rapley; L Rapley; Stevens; Haviland In 1952 the Cosford Estate was broken up and Hill Farm was Lot 19. The annotation on the relevant page of the sale catalogue notes that it was 'Sold to tenants' and the tenant was listed as Mr M L Rapley: Ron and Rosemary's grandfather farmed at Hill Farm. He went toLondon to claim his bride,The Lutyens's governess Maurice Rapley and pony Mr & Mrs Maurice Rapley with sons Vernon and Lionel and daughter Aileen Aileen Rapley, Maurice's daughter, school teacher. She left Thursley when war broke out. The stars of Mrs Fisher'schoir were the three Hill Farm Rapleys: Lionel; Vernon and Aileen who was also Miss Lutyens's daughter and Maggie Walters whom Vernon Rapley married. Lionel Rapley, Maurice's son, Rosemary Walker's father. Labrador breeder, founded Hilldown kennels. Church organist. Vernon Rapley nicknamed 'Bay', Maurice's son and Ron's (nicknamed Boy) father, chicken farmer. Lionel Rapley, church organist for many years Martin and Rosemary Rapley, son and daughter of Lionel Rapley The Reverend Edmund and Jane Haviland, 1998 Edmund and Jane Haviland and her son, Nigel Chandler Photograph above and below by Sean Edwards
- Bedford Farm House
Photographs only of this Grade II listed building (28th October, 1986) Mr Nash, Caroline, Florence, Mrs Nash, Berth, in front is Lilian. Mr and Mrs Nash lived at Bedford Farm. Caroline became Mrs Norman of Hole Cottage, Florence became Mrs Rapley and lived at Highfield Farm. Bedford Farm House in the Autumn, complete with Aston Martin DB2 View from Mount Pleasant across to Bedford Farm House The house was sold in 2022 and the following photographs were taken from the sale particulars: https://grantley.co.uk/property/bedford-lane-thursley/
- The Half Moon
There have been four pubs in the village: The Horn Inn; The Red Lion, The Half Moon and the Three Horse Shoes - only the latter exists as a pub. Very little information is known about The Half Moon which was on the A3 near Hammer Pond and was demolished in 1975 when the A3 became a dual carriageway, it was formerly The Anglers Retreat. If you have any information, please email the website. Photo by Peter Shimmon From the 1936 Register of Electors From Kay Cottle's postcard collection The Half Moon Inn on closing down day prior to demolition for the making of the dual carriageway on the A3. It is now the entrance to Warren Park.
- St Michael & All Angels: Church Kneelers
Many people were responsible for the producing these beautiful kneelers in Thursley Church. L to R: Unknown; Jane Hodges, Willow Cottage; Connie Bull, Bowlhead Green; Joyce Cottall, South Lodge; Marion O'Brien, The Lodge; Unknown; Margie Crawfurd, Bracken Hilll; Pat Arnold, Hedge Cottage.
- Thursley from the air
Thursley Village Pre 1958 Drone photograhy courtesy Jackie Malton Thursley Churchyard
- The Dye House
The Dye House is a Grade II listed building (9th March 1960) constructed of timber framing with brick infill and has a steeply pitched roof with gables and dormer windows. From Elstead Then & Now : The seventeenth century could well have marked a high point in the village’s (Elstead) prosperity as a small agricultural unit, as a fair was held on the Green on St. James’ Day. In 1666 there was a place called the “Dyehouse” out on the Thursley Road, the tenant being one Henry Peto. In fact it was on the right hand side, descending the hill into Thursley from Elstead. It may be evidence of the cultivation of woad in the area. Guildford, Godalming and Farnham were all centres of the production of kersey woollen cloth, and the importance of the wool trade in medieval England has already been mentioned. The “Woolpack” and the “Golden Fleece” (pubs in Elstead) suggest the importance of the wool trade in the area, and as late as the nineteenth century, Elstead still had a worsted mill. The wool trade was dwindling in importance by the seventeenth century in the area, however, It was concern for the plight of elderly weavers which led Archbishop George Abbot to found the almshouses, or hospital, in his native Guildford. Mrs Gooch of Dye House Outdoor staff at Dye House, 1936. Mr Ives, the gardener; Charles Weeden, the chauffeur; and Mr Harrison, the odd job man. Indoor staff at Dye House, 1936. Marg Hall; Charles Weeden (chauffeur); Moyra, the kitchen maid; Sam Warner. Rock Garden and Pond The Dye House,1900, was owned by Mr R Payne of Pierrepont Farm, Frensham, and later passed to Mrs Gooch, his daughter. The Rock Garden, 1938, - Smallbook stream was dug by monks living there around 1600. Alf Pullen, coachman to the Gooch family, lived at Brook Cottage which was changed from Ivy Cottage in 1939. Charles Weeden, chauffeur to Sir Bruce Thomas QC, 1929 Rolls Royce which had silver interior fittings. From the 1936 Register of Electors Previous owners of The Dye House include: Thoden van Velsen From Country Life issue dated June 11, 1953: Front and rear of Knight, Frank & Rutley particulars (undated): Interior of brochure: The chestnut tree many years ago. The tree has now been transformed into a wonderfully imaginative play area for the owners' grandchildren.
- The Festival of Britain, 1951
The Festival of Britain was a national exhibition and fair that reached millions of visitors throughout the United Kingdom in the summer of 1951. Thursley celebrated the event on 4th May, 1951 The Festival of Britain Emblem, the Festival Star Ist Prize, Joan Sharland and other winners in the fancy dress parade of Festival Celebrations 4th May 1951 The Festival Queen was Joan Sharland, with attendants Joan and Margaret Baker. The chauffeur was Reg Cottle driving his Delage car Another view of Joan Sharland and Reg Cottle (in fancy dress!) Lionel Rapley, Sidney Hall, Marjorie Baker with Joan Sharland as she is crowned. Bo Peep and Balloon Lady (Mrs Cooper and daughter)











